Fall Reading

New and noteworthy book suggestions for fall

"It is only the farmer who faithfully plants seeds in the Spring, who reaps a harvest in the Autumn." - B. C. Forbes
Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney
Under a Pole Star
by Stef Penney
A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of the Costa-winning The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Sarah Perry, Jessie Burton and Donna Tartt ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
The Child Finder
by Rene Denfeld
A haunting, richly atmospheric, and deeply suspenseful novel from the acclaimed author of The Enchanted about an investigator who must use her unique insights ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Cottingley Secret by Hazel Gaynor
The Cottingley Secret
by Hazel Gaynor
The Cottingley Secret tells the tale of two girls who somehow convince the world that magic exists. An artful weaving of old legends with new realities, this tale invites the reader ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 The Indigo Girl by Natasha Boyd
The Indigo Girl
by Natasha Boyd
The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family’s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Boat Runner
by Devin Murphy
The Boat Runner
by Devin Murphy
In the tradition of All The Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, comes an incandescent debut novel about a young Dutch man who comes of age during the perilousness ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 Little Broken Things
by Nicole Baart
Little Broken Things
by Nicole Baart
“If you liked Big Little Lies, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.” —Southern Living An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Good People by Hannah Kent
The Good People
by Hannah Kent
Based on true events in nineteenth century Ireland, Hannah Kent’s startling new novel tells the story of three women, drawn together to rescue child from a superstitious ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 Unforgivable Love by Sophfronia Scott
Unforgivable Love
by Sophfronia Scott
In this vivid reimagining of the French classic Les Liaisons Dangereuses, it’s the summer when Jackie Robinson breaks Major League Baseball’s color barrier and ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Lilli de Jong by Janet Benton
Lilli de Jong
by Janet Benton
A young woman finds the most powerful love of her life when she gives birth at an institution for unwed mothers in 1883 Philadelphia. She is told she must give up her daughter ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 Manhattan Beach
by Jennifer Egan
Manhattan Beach
by Jennifer Egan
Anna Kerrigan, nearly twelve years old, accompanies her father to visit Dexter Styles, a man who, she gleans, is crucial to the survival of her father and her family. She is ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Love and Other Consolation Prizes
by Jamie Ford
Love and Other Consolation Prizes
by Jamie Ford
For twelve-year-old Ernest Young, a charity student at a boarding school, the chance to go to the World’s Fair feels like a gift. But only once he’s there, amid the exotic ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 The Ninth Hour by Alice McDermott
The Ninth Hour
by Alice McDermott
A magnificent new novel from one of America’s finest writers—a powerfully affecting story spanning the twentieth century of a widow and her daughter and the nuns who serve ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Stay with Me by Ayobami Adebayo
Stay with Me
by Ayobami Adebayo
Yejide and Akin have been married since they met and fell in love at university. Though many expected Akin to take several wives, he and Yejide have always agreed: polygamy ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir by Jennifer Ryan
The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir
by Jennifer Ryan
For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Days Without End by Sebastian Barry
Days Without End
by Sebastian Barry
From the two-time Man Booker Prize finalist Sebastian Barry, “a master storyteller” (Wall Street Journal), comes a powerful new novel of duty and family set against the ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
 Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng
Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng
In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is planned – from the layout of the winding roads, to the colors of the houses, to the successfull ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward
Sing, Unburied, Sing
by Jesmyn Ward
In Jesmyn Ward’s first novel since her National Book Award–winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings the archetypal road novel into rural ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Twelve-Mile Straight by Eleanor Henderson
The Twelve-Mile Straight
by Eleanor Henderson
From New York Times bestselling author Eleanor Henderson, an audacious American epic set in rural Georgia during the years of the Depression and Prohibition. Cotton County ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
The Lightkeeper's Daughters by Jean E. Pendziwol
The Lightkeeper's Daughters
by Jean E. Pendziwol
“Jean Pendziwol’s beautifully written novel captured me from the very first page. Its descriptions of the windswept lightkeeper’s station of Elizabeth’s and Emily’s youth are so ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Unraveling Oliver by Liz Nugent
Unraveling Oliver
by Liz Nugent
In this “compelling, clever, and dark” (Heat magazine) thriller, a man’s shocking act of savagery stuns a local community—and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped ...More
Buy From Amazon.com
Looking for more reading suggestions?
Visit Our Blog
Browse A Little
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks