FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction

I listened to this book on audio. After listening to this book on audio, I had to dig for more information on this fascinating story based on the author's family history. At 15 years old Georgia Hunter discovers she comes fro More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/04/02, 05:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Rosie is a bright, fun, high-energy person. When people meet her, the words quirky and eccentric immediately come to mind. Rex is her complete opposite. He likes things planned and orderly, he's a man of rules. Well, as the sayin More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 06:00 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This story explores adultery and the concept of consent, which as the book points out, is not always clear-cut. It will cause you to reflect on not just the sexual relationships between men and women, but also the overall balance More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Here we have an emotional and compelling story about a black market child trafficking ring. Itís inspired by true events, which for me, makes it all the more meaningful. Avery Stafford is a successful federal prosecutor with a b More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Full of twists, this is a book that redefines the meaning of female friendship. Itís about four friends who become entwined in each otherís lives, their children go to the same school and play together, they meet for coffee and t More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/28, 12:30 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

If you like light suspenseful stories, with some family drama tossed in, this is the book for you. I found the writing style and plotting similar to Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes,so those who love these two, should jump right i More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:44 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The premise of this book is not unusual, at least if you read a lot of historical fiction about WWI. And, yes this is a story about the Nazis, but their presence is muted in this tale. It doesnít mitigate the heinousness or the e More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Wow, this book really kept me guessing. Itís good; cleverly written, fast-paced, suspenseful and perfectly plotted. There are many twists and turns you wonít see coming, but be warned, the first twist is positively brilliant. More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Jojo Moyes has a knack for taking ordinary events and infusing them with tension, so you just want to keep reading. As usual, in this story, her characters are very normal and real, you like them and want to find out what happens More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This story takes place, during WWII. It follows two women, Liv, a photographer, and Jane, a journalist, who are covering events following D Day. Real life women inspired the story; this always takes things up a notch or two. It More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:37 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iíve read a lot of World War II books, most detailing abominable acts against humanity. So, I was a bit surprised that I did not know about the events happening in this book. Be warned; this story portrays much evil and sufferin More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/08, 11:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

IF THE CREEK DONíT RISE is an in-depth portrayal of life in the Appalachian Mountains. I love character-driven novels, and all I can say is this one is fabulous. Itís page-turning, but itís not only the tension and suspense driv More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I thoroughly enjoyed this psychological thriller. Anna suffers from severe acrophobia. She spends her days looking out the window, peeking into windows and taking pictures of her neighbors. She also visits online chat rooms, dr More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iím a Paris kind of person. I love reading and learning more about this beautiful city; matching my remembered perception with the authorís portrayal. Iím secretly hoping the author captures the cityís charms so I can visit vicar More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The Midwife's Revolt is the first book in The Midwife Series by Jodi Daynard about the revolutionary war. As a historical fiction lover, I enjoyed reading about the women who took up arms for the cause. If you enjoy books with st More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/01/18, 12:56 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I loved this book for several reasons. To start with, Eliza Hamilton was a strong woman, and strong, inspirational women get me every time. I also love reading about the role women played in different eras and the contentment the More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:53 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I picked up this book because I love everything Paris. I was also intrigued because I can remember reading about an abandoned Paris apartment, filled with artwork, being discovered a few years back. In this story Flora is an art More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

One of the things I like most about this book is that, although a fictionalized account of a true person, it feels real. Itís also inspiring to read about a young woman ahead of her time. Sixteen year- ld Eliza Lucas is incredib More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/06, 09:55 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I was drawn to this book because I was craving a good historical fiction story. This one takes place in the 1940s and explores many issues of the times. Itís well researched and just when you think you have things figured out, More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Iím not sure why I ended up reading this book because itís not my usual genre. I think I liked the cover. Itís so creative and colorful, it just drew me in. Well, the book is witty and engaging, filled with outrageous characters More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I grabbed this book because of the great reviews it was getting. And although it took a while, once it pulled me in, I was hooked. Itís a story that has plenty going for it; like lots of atmosphere, a clever plot and some surpri More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:55 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Iíve read several of Elin Hilderbrandís books. I love her clean writing style and her incredible talent for creating atmosphere. In WINTER SOLSTICE, her descriptions of Nantucket, make you feel like youíve lived there your entir More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:06 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

A different perspective on the Civil War. Itís a story of a young and passionate girl, recently home from college, working to help slaves cross the NY Canadian border to safety. She faces many challenges as she struggles to d More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:05 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

At its core, this is a story of a manís love for his family and his quite ordinary life. Jason is content. He's a college professor. He owns a nice home in the suburbs of Chicago. Heís happy. However, the idyllic life portray More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:04 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This is a beautiful story, but it should come with a warning. It is disturbing and covers some uncomfortable controversial topics.It is the story of two people; both abused as children. Wavyís father is a drug dealer, and her mot More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/05, 11:49 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending