FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
Fiction

What pulled me into this story were the vividly drawn characters and their relationships with each other. The many nuances and details each character brought to the story helped to transport me to 1922 Russia and stay there for More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2019/03/24, 06:44 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Without a doubt, this story gives new meaning to the term "unconditional love" and what a mother is willing to do for her child. I don't want to give away too much, but I will say The Dream Daughter tells the story of More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/22, 12:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

In the Extraordinary Life of Sam Hell, Robert Dugoni creates a beautiful story about a boy born with a genetic abnormality, ocular albinism or red eyes. Growing up and attending Catholic school, he is called "Devil Boy &q More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/22, 12:46 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Nonfiction

A powerful and emotionally charged memoir about a young girl who realizes she wants more from life than the poverty stricken life of her childhood. Her profound success is amazing, especially considereing the obstacles she fac More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/22, 12:31 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

The writing in this book is rich and intense, making you want to read slowly so you catch every word. But at the same time, you are entranced by the story and Greek mythology so you want to read as fast as you can. I loved this More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/22, 01:09 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Nonfiction

It's hard for me to understand how any mother can walk away from her child. Kya's mother did just this and sadly, a few years later her father left. By the age of ten, Kya was completely on her own. Her journey is sentimental and More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/04, 07:10 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Yes, this book is about the horrors of the Holocaust, but more than this, it's a book about love and the limits of human endurance. There is violence and loss, but at the same time, the reader is also a witness to bravery and det More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/04, 07:08 PM
Buy From Amazon.com l
Fiction

The Darkest Child by Delores Phillips has been on my TBR list for quite some time, and I'm sorry I didn't read it sooner. Phillips is an excellent storyteller and delivers an emotional read I thoroughly enjoyed. I listened to it More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2019/03/04, 02:51 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I listened to this book on audio. After listening to this book on audio, I had to dig for more information on this fascinating story based on the author's family history. At 15 years old Georgia Hunter discovers she comes fro More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/04/02, 05:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Rosie is a bright, fun, high-energy person. When people meet her, the words quirky and eccentric immediately come to mind. Rex is her complete opposite. He likes things planned and orderly, he's a man of rules. Well, as the sayin More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 06:00 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This story explores adultery and the concept of consent, which as the book points out, is not always clear-cut. It will cause you to reflect on not just the sexual relationships between men and women, but also the overall balance More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Here we have an emotional and compelling story about a black market child trafficking ring. Itís inspired by true events, which for me, makes it all the more meaningful. Avery Stafford is a successful federal prosecutor with a b More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Full of twists, this is a book that redefines the meaning of female friendship. Itís about four friends who become entwined in each otherís lives, their children go to the same school and play together, they meet for coffee and t More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/28, 12:30 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

If you like light suspenseful stories, with some family drama tossed in, this is the book for you. I found the writing style and plotting similar to Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes,so those who love these two, should jump right i More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:44 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The premise of this book is not unusual, at least if you read a lot of historical fiction about WWI. And, yes this is a story about the Nazis, but their presence is muted in this tale. It doesnít mitigate the heinousness or the e More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Wow, this book really kept me guessing. Itís good; cleverly written, fast-paced, suspenseful and perfectly plotted. There are many twists and turns you wonít see coming, but be warned, the first twist is positively brilliant. More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Jojo Moyes has a knack for taking ordinary events and infusing them with tension, so you just want to keep reading. As usual, in this story, her characters are very normal and real, you like them and want to find out what happens More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This story takes place, during WWII. It follows two women, Liv, a photographer, and Jane, a journalist, who are covering events following D Day. Real life women inspired the story; this always takes things up a notch or two. It More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:37 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iíve read a lot of World War II books, most detailing abominable acts against humanity. So, I was a bit surprised that I did not know about the events happening in this book. Be warned; this story portrays much evil and sufferin More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/08, 11:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

IF THE CREEK DONíT RISE is an in-depth portrayal of life in the Appalachian Mountains. I love character-driven novels, and all I can say is this one is fabulous. Itís page-turning, but itís not only the tension and suspense driv More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I thoroughly enjoyed this psychological thriller. Anna suffers from severe acrophobia. She spends her days looking out the window, peeking into windows and taking pictures of her neighbors. She also visits online chat rooms, dr More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iím a Paris kind of person. I love reading and learning more about this beautiful city; matching my remembered perception with the authorís portrayal. Iím secretly hoping the author captures the cityís charms so I can visit vicar More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The Midwife's Revolt is the first book in The Midwife Series by Jodi Daynard about the revolutionary war. As a historical fiction lover, I enjoyed reading about the women who took up arms for the cause. If you enjoy books with st More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/01/18, 12:56 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I loved this book for several reasons. To start with, Eliza Hamilton was a strong woman, and strong, inspirational women get me every time. I also love reading about the role women played in different eras and the contentment the More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:53 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I picked up this book because I love everything Paris. I was also intrigued because I can remember reading about an abandoned Paris apartment, filled with artwork, being discovered a few years back. In this story Flora is an art More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending