FIRST PREV (1 of 15) NEXT LAST
fiction

This heartwarming story is a must read for animal lovers and especially for those who have lost a pet. If you liked The Art of Racing in the Rain, then you'll surely find this book enjoyable. The premise of the book is a dog re More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/03/22, 12:04 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I was pulled into this heartfelt story right from the start. Africa is huge, I’ve read many books set in this country, yet I feel there is always something to learn with each new book. Young Beryl was a delight to read about. Gr More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/13, 07:46 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

After reading this beautifully written story, the meaning of Wyeth’s s painting “Christina’s World” will be forever changed for me. Kline gives the reader an intimate look at the real life muse of Andrew Wyeth; the inspiration fo More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/12, 09:33 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

I loved this book. Of course, the plot was entertaining; Liane Moriarty knows how to develop complex characters, and she excels at generating real-life drama and dialog that seems like it belongs at your dinner table. She captu More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/09, 12:40 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

The first twist in this book is original and oh so very clever; not too many readers will see it coming. It’s not often I go back and re-read pages to figure out how I missed clues- but this time it was a must. The book begins w More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/07, 07:04 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

This book is intriguing right from the start. Mainly because of this curious house at One Folgate Street, which plays a big role in the story. I thought it took a huge imagination to conceptualize this house and found everything More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/06, 08:32 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

As the story opens, Lydia, the middle and favorite child of James and Marilyn Lee is missing and in short order found dead in a nearby lake. This leads the reader to believe this is a puzzle mystery. How and why did this teenage More
Reviewed by- -2017/03/06, 03:07 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

I don’t watch TV a lot, and so had not heard of or watched Fargo, the wildly popular TV show created by Noah Hawley. But, after reading this book, I just may have to do a marathon Fargo sit in. The book opens with a group of pa More
Reviewed by- -2017/03/06, 03:06 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Once you start this book it’s not likely to sit on your night table for very long, you won’t want to put it down. As I read, echoing in my mind was the famous quote “Oh! What a tangled web we weave, when first we practice to dece More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/06, 03:05 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

In my mind, the term bachelor party conjures up images of high caloric food, shots followed by beer chasers, maybe a strip club or someone hired to dance down to her thong in front of the man of the hour and dawn breaking over gu More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/06, 03:03 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

This is an excellent psychological thriller and so much more. Hattie is a girl with a magnetic personality who knows what she wants and how to get it; she’s manipulative, focused and undeterred when she wants something. Her voice More
Reviewed by- linda -2017/03/06, 03:02 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

A true crime story that took place in July, 2009 in a suburb of Seattle. Eli Sanders won a Pulitzer Prize for reporting on this murder and exposing a flawed mental health system in Washington State. It’s not hard to make the le More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/06, 02:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

There is so much to this big 642 page book, it’s hard to know where to begin. On the surface, it is the story of a mother and son. Sam is damaged, and his relationship with his mother is damaged, because without any explanation More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/01, 04:51 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

We all need to bear witness to the atrocities of the Holocaust, individually as humans and collectively as a society. Reading, pondering and talking about these horrors ensures they will not happen again. This book, although fic More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/03/01, 04:49 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction Lovers will not be able to put this debut novel down. It's based on the actual story of women imprisoned at Ravensbruck Concentration camp. The only female concentration camp during WWII. The Nazi's operated on More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/02/28, 09:36 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

There's something warm and fuzzy about reading a book that takes place in a bookstore. I always find these books fun to read. The Storied Life of AJ Fikry drops you in the middle of a quaint little bookstore on a small island n More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/02/16, 02:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Based on true events, an engaging and well researched story with amazing historical perspective. It gives life to the behind the scene events of the Civil War. Placidia is young, newly married and left to tend her husband’s farm More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/02/14, 04:53 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

One thing is certain – pick up a Chris Bohjalian book and you are in for something original. This time, he brings his unique perspective and style to the condition of sleepwalking. And while the story revolves around a young woma More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/02/14, 04:52 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Every so often you come across a book that grabs you, and you can’t stop reading. This is just such a book. Joe is a college student with a biography due for a college paper and he needs someone to write about; anyone will do, he More
Reviewed by- linda -2017/02/03, 10:46 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction enthusiasts will love Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi. It won several awards including being one of Oprah's favorite books of 2016. This book is Gyasi debut novel and a Book Club favorite. The story follows an African More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/02/02, 08:26 AM
Buy From Amazon.coml
fiction

I picked up Katarina Bivald's debut novel because I was looking for a light read. The kind of book that provides an escape. Bam! A few pages in and I'm transported to the small midwestern town of Broken Wheel. It's a feel good More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/02/02, 07:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

We all know life can change in a split second and alter the trajectory of our lives. In the book Faithfull, Alice Hoffman tells the gut wrenching story of Shelby Richmond. She is the driver of the car involved in a terrible accid More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/01/18, 07:52 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a story of survival and how the effects of severe dust storms and drought affect an individual family and a community of farmers at large. The character development is excellent; the author brings the reader straight int More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/01/06, 08:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Relationships can be complicated, especially when it comes to family. Whiskey and Charlie are brothers, identical twins, from the outside you can’t tell them apart, but inside each is unique. As Charlie and Whiskey grow, the gap More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/01/06, 08:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This book opens the discussion on a little know practice of the mid 19th century. Many orphaned children were packed into trains and transported to the mid west; where they were put on display for the locals to adopt. Sadly, fam More
Reviewed by- linda -2017/01/06, 08:29 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 15) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks