FIRST PREV (11 of 14) NEXT LAST
fiction

(3.5 stars) An amusing love story about Benny and Shrimp, two thirty something adults, attempting to merge vastly different life styles. Itís told from the perspective of these two main characters with many of the situations bei More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/05, 05:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

This intriguing story takes place in the early 1900ís and tells the story of a 4-year-old girl who is left on a dock in Australia. She comes alone from England on an ocean liner, and no one knows what her name is or how she arri More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/03/21, 12:07 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

A quick light read which pulls you in with a captivating story about a mother and her quest to find the truth about her adopted son. After seeing a flyer for a missing boy who strongly resembles her child, Ellen begins to questio More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/03/21, 02:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is my first time reading anything by this author and I have to say, ďnicely done Diane ChamberlainĒ. Itís a light read and overall quite predictable, but with wonderfully deep and real characters and a nice mix of mystery a More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/28, 07:52 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

With an abundance of Southern Charm and a colorful cast of characters, Beth Hoffman gives a delightful read about the struggles of a 12-year-old girl named Ceecee Honeycutt. Abandoned by her traveling salesman father, she is left More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/02/14, 02:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is an entertaining story that takes place in Mississippi during the Civil Rights Movement. Initially I did not like the deep southern dialect of the two maids, but once I accepted this, I was drawn into the book and was abl More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/10, 05:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

This book will pique your interest right from the start with incredible pacing, strong balanced action scenes and terrific character development, all flowing and intertwining to create a suspenseful absorbing read. I liked the j More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/10, 05:52 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Roses by Leila Meacham is a sweeping saga that spans about 70 years and three generations. Itís immensely enjoyable and a perfect winter read, one that invites curling up by a fire. Meacham keeps the plot moving with twists, co More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/03, 06:50 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

After reading the jacket cover of ONE THOUSAND WHITE WOMEN, I was completely intrigued. The premise of the book is the American Government hands over one thousand women to a tribe of Cheyenne Indians. The women are to marry and h More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/31, 05:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Set in Mexico in the late eighteen hundredís during a time of civil unrest and political conflict. Urrea writes a beautiful historical novel that introduces the reader to his great-aunt Teresita. The story begins with Teresita as More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/20, 05:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is an absorbing book that is written in a poetic, readable style. I love books about friendship, female bonding and other cultures; this story elegantly weaves together all these elements. It spans 15 years and has enough la More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/01/17, 11:35 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

This is an outstanding addition to Sue Graftonís alphabet series, as she proves once again the depth of her talent. For fans of this series, Kinsey remains true to form. For first time readers, itís hard not to like this personab More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/01/17, 11:30 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

RAIN GODS by James Lee Burke is a well-written novel which grabs readerís attention from the first chapter. Burke guides us through a journey filled with descriptive characters and a dramatic storyline. Set in rural Texas, the st More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/06, 08:44 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

After reading "The Nanny Diaries" and watching the movie I was excited to read the sequel. I loved some of the original characters (especially Grayer), disliked others and was very entertained by the original story. St More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/04, 06:29 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Zoe Ferraris has given us two mysteries in this debut novel, one to be solved and one that simply evolves. The fundamental mystery as indicated in the book title is finding a 16 year old girl who is missing. With a writing style More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/01/03, 05:59 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

A delightful engaging book with a wonderful, memorable cast of characters. My favorite of course is Maisie. She is unique in personality and her approach to solving cases, a complex blend of intelligence, thoughtfulness, and war More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/22, 12:30 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

(3.5 stars) A simple plot made complex with a backdrop of the post Iranian revolution and the many threads running through it, the most dominant being injustice and fear. Itís immediately engaging as it opens with the arrest of More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/22, 12:29 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

Never having read Stuart Woods, I was pleasantly surprised by this light and enjoyable mystery. Agent Holly Barker takes center stage as a CIA agent and former military officer trying find a serial rapist in a sleepy beach town i More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/21, 01:17 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Find a quiet place to enjoy this wonderful book for it is an exquisite story you will want to take your time with and absorb. Sebastian Barry transports the reader to 1920's Ireland during a period of conflict and limited opport More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/14, 08:08 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

After reading the jacket cover of THE SEAMSTRESS, I was very excited to learn about Brazil and its history. This book of historical fiction covers a time in the country where bandits, landowners and politicians were in constant c More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/14, 06:02 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This book is written from the perspective of an illiterate Harlem teenager, depicting the intense sorrow and distress she endured growing up. She was a victim of unnerving acts. Her family and community support structure was no More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/06, 06:17 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I have not read C.J. Box before and was very pleasantly surprised. This book is well written with lots of action and is hard to put down at times. Box has mastered the art of creating tension and suspense. It starts immediatel More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/06, 06:15 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

I couldnít resist jumping on the bandwagon of this popular series by Diana Gabaldon. I resisted for two reasons, the length of the book at over 800 pages and the idea of time travel. Curiosity got the better of me and I dove in h More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/01, 04:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is a touching story of two women and a friendship that spans decades. I liked that the author did not make everything perfect between them; instead she allowed their closeness to follow a more realistic path with the tensio More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/25, 10:20 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

First let me point out that this book won the Pulitzer, the writing is exceptional. The characters are completely believable and life like. Having lived in Maine for a few years I can honestly say Strout captures the essence of More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/25, 10:18 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
FIRST PREV (11 of 14) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Buy from Amazon
Free bookmarks