FIRST PREV (11 of 14) NEXT LAST
fiction

In 1942 the French Police rounded up their own Jewish citizens for the Naziís to be placed in the a French arena named the Velodrome d Hiver and then transported to the death camps. When twelve year old Sarah receives a knock on More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/04/25, 04:22 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

I was drawn to this book because I love learning about other cultures. The idea of a missionary becoming an atheist after his stay with a tribe from the Brazilian Amazon was hard to resist. The authorís idea was to live with the More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/04/25, 04:19 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

The concept of this book is original and very imaginative. Itís a struggle between the evil ďfallen angelsĒ and the secret society of Angelologists trying to thwart their progress. Trussoniís descriptive powers are amazing as s More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/11, 04:33 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

A first rate mystery with sound detective work and a tough protagonist. The book starts off strong and violent but when the bad guys pull Boschís daughter into the formula, our hero becomes ruthless. Quite a bit of the action ta More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/11, 04:19 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is a story that pulls you in on two levels. Itís a story within a story that beautifully blends reality and fairytale. One thread focuses on family dynamics, with an interesting look at the emotional process of accepting yo More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/05, 06:38 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

A very interesting book which sheds light on a little know aspect of the Holocaust and proves again there is no end to the brutal choices people were forced to make during WWII . It amazes me that Hitlerís efforts to perpetuate More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/05, 06:33 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

I canít make any comparison to his earlier works as this is my first experience with Crais. I can say this is an entertaining read with great nonstop action. The main character Pike, is tough and up to the task of serious retri More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/05, 06:11 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

(3.5 stars) An amusing love story about Benny and Shrimp, two thirty something adults, attempting to merge vastly different life styles. Itís told from the perspective of these two main characters with many of the situations bei More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/04/05, 05:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

This intriguing story takes place in the early 1900ís and tells the story of a 4-year-old girl who is left on a dock in Australia. She comes alone from England on an ocean liner, and no one knows what her name is or how she arri More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/03/21, 12:07 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

A quick light read which pulls you in with a captivating story about a mother and her quest to find the truth about her adopted son. After seeing a flyer for a missing boy who strongly resembles her child, Ellen begins to questio More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/03/21, 02:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is my first time reading anything by this author and I have to say, ďnicely done Diane ChamberlainĒ. Itís a light read and overall quite predictable, but with wonderfully deep and real characters and a nice mix of mystery a More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/28, 07:52 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

With an abundance of Southern Charm and a colorful cast of characters, Beth Hoffman gives a delightful read about the struggles of a 12-year-old girl named Ceecee Honeycutt. Abandoned by her traveling salesman father, she is left More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/02/14, 02:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is an entertaining story that takes place in Mississippi during the Civil Rights Movement. Initially I did not like the deep southern dialect of the two maids, but once I accepted this, I was drawn into the book and was abl More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/10, 05:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

This book will pique your interest right from the start with incredible pacing, strong balanced action scenes and terrific character development, all flowing and intertwining to create a suspenseful absorbing read. I liked the j More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/10, 05:52 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Roses by Leila Meacham is a sweeping saga that spans about 70 years and three generations. Itís immensely enjoyable and a perfect winter read, one that invites curling up by a fire. Meacham keeps the plot moving with twists, co More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/02/03, 06:50 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

After reading the jacket cover of ONE THOUSAND WHITE WOMEN, I was completely intrigued. The premise of the book is the American Government hands over one thousand women to a tribe of Cheyenne Indians. The women are to marry and h More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/31, 05:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Set in Mexico in the late eighteen hundredís during a time of civil unrest and political conflict. Urrea writes a beautiful historical novel that introduces the reader to his great-aunt Teresita. The story begins with Teresita as More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/20, 05:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is an absorbing book that is written in a poetic, readable style. I love books about friendship, female bonding and other cultures; this story elegantly weaves together all these elements. It spans 15 years and has enough la More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/01/17, 11:35 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

RAIN GODS by James Lee Burke is a well-written novel which grabs readerís attention from the first chapter. Burke guides us through a journey filled with descriptive characters and a dramatic storyline. Set in rural Texas, the st More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/06, 08:44 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

After reading "The Nanny Diaries" and watching the movie I was excited to read the sequel. I loved some of the original characters (especially Grayer), disliked others and was very entertained by the original story. St More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/01/04, 06:29 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Zoe Ferraris has given us two mysteries in this debut novel, one to be solved and one that simply evolves. The fundamental mystery as indicated in the book title is finding a 16 year old girl who is missing. With a writing style More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/01/03, 05:59 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

A delightful engaging book with a wonderful, memorable cast of characters. My favorite of course is Maisie. She is unique in personality and her approach to solving cases, a complex blend of intelligence, thoughtfulness, and war More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/22, 12:30 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

(3.5 stars) A simple plot made complex with a backdrop of the post Iranian revolution and the many threads running through it, the most dominant being injustice and fear. Itís immediately engaging as it opens with the arrest of More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/22, 12:29 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

Never having read Stuart Woods, I was pleasantly surprised by this light and enjoyable mystery. Agent Holly Barker takes center stage as a CIA agent and former military officer trying find a serial rapist in a sleepy beach town i More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/21, 01:17 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Find a quiet place to enjoy this wonderful book for it is an exquisite story you will want to take your time with and absorb. Sebastian Barry transports the reader to 1920's Ireland during a period of conflict and limited opport More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/14, 08:08 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
FIRST PREV (11 of 14) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks