FIRST PREV (11 of 13) NEXT LAST

After reading the jacket cover of THE SEAMSTRESS, I was very excited to learn about Brazil and its history. This book of historical fiction covers a time in the country where bandits, landowners and politicians were in constant c More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/14, 06:02 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This book is written from the perspective of an illiterate Harlem teenager, depicting the intense sorrow and distress she endured growing up. She was a victim of unnerving acts. Her family and community support structure was no More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/06, 06:17 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

I have not read C.J. Box before and was very pleasantly surprised. This book is well written with lots of action and is hard to put down at times. Box has mastered the art of creating tension and suspense. It starts immediatel More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/12/06, 06:15 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble

I couldnít resist jumping on the bandwagon of this popular series by Diana Gabaldon. I resisted for two reasons, the length of the book at over 800 pages and the idea of time travel. Curiosity got the better of me and I dove in h More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/12/01, 04:49 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is a touching story of two women and a friendship that spans decades. I liked that the author did not make everything perfect between them; instead she allowed their closeness to follow a more realistic path with the tensio More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/25, 10:20 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

First let me point out that this book won the Pulitzer, the writing is exceptional. The characters are completely believable and life like. Having lived in Maine for a few years I can honestly say Strout captures the essence of More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/25, 10:18 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

Perfume is a very original but on some levels a disturbing novel. It has a Gothic feel to it, which I like. Itís a literary thriller, which is dark, and at times humorous, but itís also one of the strangest books I have read. Su More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/25, 10:15 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is a book with the ability to nurture the mind and the soul. The concept of the novel is ingenious and very original. Time travel is fascinating to read about and a clever method for filling in the background of characters More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/15, 11:24 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) This novel is full of quirky people and lively witty dialog. On one level itís a fun engaging read, as you loose yourself in the adventures of an 84 year old man lusting after a much younger 36 year old blond bombshel More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/13, 05:48 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com

This is a sophisticated coming of age story. Itís written in a beautiful style thatís delicate and at the same time bold, very much like the protagonist of this story. The story line takes place in 17th Century Persia and delve More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/13, 05:44 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

First off, this is a fun book to read, especially if you like Sherlock Holmes. Itís filled with amusing, clever dialog and playful interaction between the characters. King anoints each with a distinct, endearing voice and a plea More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:08 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This novel is large in size and scope. Itís also a complex book with a colossal number of characters. Perhaps because I am American and unfamiliar with English history, I found it necessary, especially with the first half of th More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:05 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is the perfect book if you are looking for a great coming of age story. I think Sparks skillfully captures the inner workings of teenagers; their quickness to display passion or to retreat equally as quickly when vulnerable More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:02 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

THE THIRTEENTH TALE is one of those books that transports you into the pages of the book. This debut novel is a beautiful gothic mystery about a young woman who sets out on a quest to find the missing thirteenth tale. It begins i More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/28, 04:37 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

One of my barometers for a great book is when I am finished I canít stop thinking about the story or the characters. Karen Fossumís ďThe Waterís EdgeĒ meets that criterion and then some. Wonderfully written she drew me into the s More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/27, 12:44 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

Intense and simple are the first things that come to mind when I think about this book. The word simple because the writing style, although clear and beautiful, is sparse. It works well with the relaxing pace of the book and mat More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/27, 05:19 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

The topic of the Free Masons as a secretive organization was an intriguing and original concept. When Combined with the potential of being connected to our nationís capital my expectations for this book soared. I am an avid fan o More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/27, 02:41 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) This is my first experience with this author so the deciding factor in buying this book was the wonderful cover. It says family and friendships, a sense of belonging. As I started to read, this authorís exquisite wr More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/25, 08:00 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is an intricate mystery with many layers. Itís actually two stories taking place simultaneously, both are complex. One story is present day (1972) and for the second, the author transports you to the year 1790. The book is More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/25, 06:18 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble

This is a charming totally delightful read, a perfect cozy mystery. Finch transports you right into middle of Englandís Victorian era and the life of the protagonist, Charles Lenox. And he does it all with good writing and excel More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/18, 04:43 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5) It is quite unbelievable to realize that this novels' roots are based in truth, the life of the Chinese painter Pan Yuliang. It is a fascinating account of the atrocious acts one person is capably of inflicting on another, More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/18, 04:37 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) Although this is not a thriller as billed, it is a thoroughly enjoyable ďwho done itĒ mystery with quite the engaging protagonist. The story moves along at a nice pace, building intrigue and adding names to the list o More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/12, 06:51 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) In this book the author flips back and forth between two stories, both revolving around the Mormon doctrine of plural marriage; one is historical and the other modern day. The well researched historical storyline was More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/06, 01:57 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(really a 3.5) I love Woody Allan and this novel read like one of his movies, the camera kept rolling as you observed the characters in action and thought. Jennifer Haighís characters were genuine; her descriptions so real she p More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/30, 06:07 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

As the winner of the Orange Broadband Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist, HALF OF A YELLOW SUN is a moving story of love, family, friendship and survival. Based on the Biafran war of the 1960ís it touches o More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/09/28, 06:54 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon
All-New BN Kids Store! Inspiring curious minds everyday.
FIRST PREV (11 of 13) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Buy from Amazon
Free bookmarks