FIRST PREV (11 of 13) NEXT LAST

This is a sophisticated coming of age story. It’s written in a beautiful style that’s delicate and at the same time bold, very much like the protagonist of this story. The story line takes place in 17th Century Persia and delve More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/13, 05:44 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

First off, this is a fun book to read, especially if you like Sherlock Holmes. It’s filled with amusing, clever dialog and playful interaction between the characters. King anoints each with a distinct, endearing voice and a plea More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:08 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This novel is large in size and scope. It’s also a complex book with a colossal number of characters. Perhaps because I am American and unfamiliar with English history, I found it necessary, especially with the first half of th More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:05 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is the perfect book if you are looking for a great coming of age story. I think Sparks skillfully captures the inner workings of teenagers; their quickness to display passion or to retreat equally as quickly when vulnerable More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/11/08, 07:02 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

The thirteenth Tale is one of those books where you feel you are transported into the pages of the book. This debut novel is a beautiful gothic mystery about a young woman who sets out on a quest to find the missing thirteenth t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/28, 04:37 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

One of my barometers for a great book is when I am finished I can’t stop thinking about the story or the characters. Karen Fossum’s “The Water’s Edge” meets that criteria and then some. Wonderfully written she drew me into th More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/27, 12:44 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

Intense and simple are the first things that come to mind when I think about this book. The word simple because the writing style, although clear and beautiful, is sparse. It works well with the relaxing pace of the book and mat More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/27, 05:19 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

The topic of the Free Masons as a secretive organization was an intriguing and original concept. When Combined with the potential of being connected to our nation’s capital my expectations for this book soared. I am an avid f More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/10/27, 02:41 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) This is my first experience with this author so the deciding factor in buying this book was the wonderful cover. It says family and friendships, a sense of belonging. As I started to read, this author’s exquisite wr More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/25, 08:00 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is an intricate mystery with many layers. It’s actually two stories taking place simultaneously, both are complex. One story is present day (1972) and for the second, the author transports you to the year 1790. The book is More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/25, 06:18 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble

This is a charming totally delightful read, a perfect cozy mystery. Finch transports you right into middle of England’s Victorian era and the life of the protagonist, Charles Lenox. And he does it all with good writing and excel More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/18, 04:43 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5) It is quite unbelievable to realize that this novels' roots are based in truth, the life of the Chinese painter Pan Yuliang. It is a fascinating account of the atrocious acts one person is capably of inflicting on another, More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/18, 04:37 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) Although this is not a thriller as billed, it is a thoroughly enjoyable “who done it” mystery with quite the engaging protagonist. The story moves along at a nice pace, building intrigue and adding names to the list o More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/12, 06:51 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

(3.5 stars) In this book the author flips back and forth between two stories, both revolving around the Mormon doctrine of plural marriage; one is historical and the other modern day. The well researched historical storyline was More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/10/06, 01:57 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

(really a 3.5) I love Woody Allan and this novel read like one of his movies, the camera kept rolling as you observed the characters in action and thought. Jennifer Haigh’s characters were genuine; her descriptions so real she p More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/30, 06:07 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

As a winner of the Orange Broadband Prize and a National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist, “Half of a Yellow Sun” is a moving story of love, family, friendship and survival. Based on the Biafran war of the 1960’s it touches on More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2009/09/28, 06:54 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

The tone of this novel is dark, perhaps by design to convey the past agonies of the four female protagonists; they are the survivors of the Holocaust. The story is based on a true event, the post war detainment and rescue of sev More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/27, 04:26 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

The story started out intriguing and grabbed me right away, then seemed to die. I was almost a third of the way through the book before it really piqued my interest again. In between it was mostly dialog about day to day life mix More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/22, 03:59 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

For starters I’d liked to mention that I loved “Sweetheart”. As “Evil Heart” features many of the same characters I assumed it was a shoe in for a tightly plotter thriller. Overall the book moves at a nice pace and there was en More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/20, 05:41 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble

I thought the beginning of this book was a little weak and at times slow. However, once the story takes hold, it is a nicely written touching book that evokes a lot of emotion. It’s told from the perspectives of each of the main More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/19, 07:06 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

Philippa Gregory’s characters are complex and immensely engaging. The story is thought provoking, multi layered and brimming with unending intrigue and suspense; fueled by the greedy, ambitious, scheming and dangerously vacillati More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/13, 04:07 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

This is an epic book about love, friendship, loyalty and betrayal. It is exotic. The writing style of John Shors is prosaic without being so weighted down as to stagnate and bore. The historical fiction aspect of this book makes More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/09, 07:08 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

The backdrop for this Historical fiction novel is the siege of Leningrad during WWII. Wartime is tough and as the journey of the two lead characters is followed, the author very realistically depicts the starvation, suffering an More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/09, 07:07 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon

I found this book slightly hard to get into, initially it felt like it was going to lack depth and fall into the “too light” chick lit category. But it wasn’t long before I was glad I persevered. Not only was this book delightfu More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/06, 12:51 PM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

I love a flawed character and this book has several which are real and believable. At the beginning of each chapter the author provided very interesting excerpts form The Lace Readers Guide, which I found to be a nice touch and c More
Reviewed by- linda -2009/09/06, 05:25 AM Book Talk Buy From Amazon.com Buy from Barnes and Noble icon
All-New BN Kids Store! Inspiring curious minds everyday.
FIRST PREV (11 of 13) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Buy from Amazon
Free bookmarks