FIRST PREV (11 of 15) NEXT LAST
Thriller

Ice Cold is a mystery laced with suspense and layered with twists. It stimulates the mind with several puzzles to solve and is a quick captivating read and a first rate mystery-thriller. Maura is the focus of this story, with J More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 07:05 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Fly Away Home is a beautifully written story of women who rise to the challenge of accepting and changing unpleasant truths about themselves. Itís about the difficulties both private and public of being a member of a Senatorís f More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:52 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

The latest in the Jack Reacher series takes place in South Dakota in the dead of winter. Iíve never been in South Dakota that time of year but I did spend a few years in Maine and Childís descriptions of the cold are very impres More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

(3.5 stars)I thought this was going to be a book about eating, spirituality and love. As it turns out, itís all of that and also about making mistakes, forgiving yourself and starting over. Gilbertís writing style is open and ho More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

The low key writing style of this author is the strength of this book. Itís a true story about a real family and the actual events they experience as a result of hurricane Katrina. As most residents of New Orleans struggle to e More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

All of Kristin Hannah's novels have left me with an unforgettable story overflowing with lovable and relatable characters. Although Summer Island was no exception, I was disappointed with its lack luster plot. Eagerly diving in More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/08/03, 07:23 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Although I have yet to read a Kristin Hannah novel without relatable and lovable characters, Between Sisters turned out to be merely average. Hannah brought us through the intricate and complicated sisterhood of Meg and Claire, More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/08/03, 07:03 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Mercy was not my favorite Jodi Picoult read. However, I still enjoyed the book after it recovered from a slower and hard to get into beginning. Picoult makes an interesting comparison between a couple torn apart by death, and Al More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/07/19, 06:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Almost from the start I was drawn into this book in a very compelling way. I liked that the story is told from the perspective of a father as so often this genre of book is carried by a female voice. You also know straight awa More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/07/18, 04:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

This is an emotionally gripping book that is beautifully written and perfectly paced. The setting for quite a bit of the book is North Carolina in the aftermath of a double hurricane. Diane Chamberlain adeptly conveys the chaoti More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/07/11, 07:15 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a touching book that explores the hardships and sacrifices a person faces in adapting to a new culture. The primary focus of the book is the determination and inner strength necessary for immigrants to survive and integr More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/07/11, 07:14 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

There is a lot that makes this a great read and also one that stands apart form the crowd. For starters, I love that it takes place in the Amish community. Linda Castillo provides wonderful detail on this closed societyís lifesty More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/07/11, 06:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Karin Slaughter exhibits great storytelling in this fast paced mystery. The main characters are interesting and flawed with depth, individual personalities and are easy to identify with. Some of the secondary characters are more More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/07/11, 06:36 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

The Kite Runner is an empowering story of the ever changing city of Kabul. The main character, Amir, takes us through his life journey as he battles with his past, his culture, and the powerful emotion of redemption. The story t More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/07/02, 06:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

"My Sister's Keeper" was the first of Jodi Picoult's books that I read, but certainly not the last, for she drew me into her powerful and thought-provoking novels. Picoult has the ability to take even the most controve More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/07/02, 06:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

I have recommended and passed "Love the One You're With" on to countless friends. Emily Giffin accurately tells the story of Ellen, happy in her new marriage, yet violently upturned when her long lost love returns. As More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/07/02, 06:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Every time I speed through one of Kristin Hannahís page turning novels, I am mad that I didnít take my time, allowing myself more precious moments with her intricate characters. On Mystic Lake was no exception. Hannahís charact More
Reviewed by- Haley -2010/06/29, 07:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is an engaging coming of age story set in the pre revolutionary war period, a time in our countryís history marked by turmoil and conflict. Sally Gunning weaves some great period detail as she sheds light on what life was l More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/06/27, 06:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

A fascinating but totally disturbing novel. The setting is the near future where certain people are designated by society as no longer useful and are essentially used as organ donors. Itís told though the voice of a Dorrit, a More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/06/27, 06:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

This is an intense captivating thriller with gruesome descriptions, great pacing and enough intrigue and twists to keep you guessing and reading. Because of her medical background, Gerrested is extremely skilled at creating real More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/06/27, 04:11 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

For fans of the first two books in this trilogy, Steig Larssonís imitable style once again prevails in this exciting crime thriller; the last in a truly brilliant series. The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest begins directly afte More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/06/16, 06:30 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Lisa Grunwald treats the reader to an engrossing story about a home economics program based on a college campus in the 1940's. Female students are assigned to a real home, also known as the practice house, for six weeks, to learn More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/06/06, 07:23 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

If youíre scouting for a new mystery series, donít miss this one. A fantastic debut with a well executed plot and likeable characters. The lead character is a not so perfect female archeologist who is pulled into a murder invest More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/05/23, 06:09 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

(3.5 starts) There is a lot to like and enjoy about this debut novel, especially for those who love historical fiction. The backdrop is Korea in the early 1900ís during the difficult period of Japanese occupation. The daughter of More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/05/23, 06:06 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

(3.5 stars) This is an easy entertaining read. True to form, Emily Giffin creates wonderful and complete characters. The story takes you into their lives, reveals their strengths and weaknesses, and makes you want to know more. More
Reviewed by- -2010/05/16, 06:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (11 of 15) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks