FIRST PREV (11 of 18) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction

Today, there are effective medicines and treatments for Hansen’s disease (historically known as Leprosy). The disease is also not as communicable as once thought. However, this book spans 80 years from the late 1800’s to 1970. More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/05/14, 06:15 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

In this book Ann Hood treats the reader to a beautiful concept when she writes –“there exits a silken red thread of destiny and when a child is born this invisible red thread connects the child’s soul to all the people – past, pr More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/05/14, 06:13 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Kristin Hannan does an amazing job with relationships and feelings in this book. Her descriptions are vivid - creating intimacy and attachment. It’s a book to be equally enjoyed by young adults as well as their parents because More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/05/14, 06:12 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a book about Olivia, a young woman with a secret who’s running from her past. It’s set in the 19th century with beautiful descriptions of an English manor house and the surrounding gardens. It depicts the life of a gove More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/05/14, 06:09 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

What makes this book work so well is Maeve Binchy’s talent for creating credible characters and a plot that is simple, straightforward and in constant motion. The events that unfold mimic life, sometimes bittersweet, surprising a More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/04/22, 08:39 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I decided to read this book, because the topic is unusual and I was intrigued by the Renaissance era. The backdrop for this book is a convent in the late 1500’s. This is excellent well-researched Historical Fiction with great i More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/04/22, 08:37 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

I’ve read and liked many of Harlan Coban’s books, but I have never listened to one on audio. This book was an excellent book to try. I listened to this on a long car trip and thoroughly enjoyed the experience from start to finish More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/04/22, 07:35 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

THEY DID IT WITH LOVE by Kate Morgenroth is a light and entertaining mystery. The setting is an upscale neighborhood in Greenwich, Connecticut focused upon a group of women who form a private mystery book club. After discovering More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/04/21, 08:23 AM
Buy From Amazon.com

LET THE GREAT WORLD SPIN by Colum McCann, is a beautifully written novel which takes place in New York City in the 1970’s. It centers on a very diverse group of people and how their lives intertwine with one another. Column draws More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/04/19, 07:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

I was looking for a light fast paced book, so I turned to James Patterson’s ALEX CROSS'S TRIAL. It was a very satisfying read with all the right ingredients to keep the pages turning. I was immediately captivated by the southern More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/04/07, 07:40 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

What I really like about Jodi Picoult, is that she takes controversial tough topics, gives both side a fair shack, stirs up the emotions and stimulates thought. In her latest installment, she tackles the rights of gay parents a More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/04/03, 06:35 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This story gets so much into the mind of the Hadley Richardson, Ernest Hemingway’s first wife and feels so real; I had to keep reminding myself it was fiction. It takes place primarily in Paris in the 1920’s, during prohibition, More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/04/03, 05:36 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

(3.5 stars) This novel has multiple layers and threads and examines some thought provoking topics. Farndale explores the concept of cowardice and bravery. With two parallel threads he contrasts a present day cowardly act where j More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/04/03, 05:30 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

(3.5 stars) Sometimes I need a light read for an escape. A book you can dive right into and have all the ends tie up nicely in the end. It’s very satisfying to turn the last page and know all the answers. I found SKIPPING A BEAT More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/04/03, 05:28 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

There’s just something about witches and vampires that intrigues me. So when I read that “A Discovery of Witches” was for adults - I couldn’t resist. The two main characters are Diana, a scholarly witch who refuses to use her po More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/03/14, 07:05 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

(3.5 stars) This is one of those easy to read books that’s filled to the brim with emotion and life like characters. The primary plot is about Cassie and her strained relationship with her sister Harriett. A family emergency fo More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/03/14, 07:04 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

(4.5 stars) This is a fast paced book that captivates your attention early and feels real. I enjoy a good legal thriller and this book is just that with excellent insight on the legal system and some behind the scenes informatio More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/03/06, 07:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

With an understated but clear writing style, Maggie O’Farrell writes about finding love, the essence of being female and embracing motherhood. This is a story that follows two women, a generation apart in age who share a passion More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/28, 07:07 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Nominated for an Edgar Award and shortlisted for 2009 John Creasy “New Blood” Dagger Award, John Fuller’s debut novel SWEETSMOKE is a fabulous read. It takes place on a Virginia plantation during the civil war in the 1800’s. We l More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/02/28, 06:46 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

The Weird Sisters is a book about coming home and capturing the feeling of belonging. Don’t let the title fool you, it refers to Macbeth’s witches and not the persona of the main characters; named so because their father was a c More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/28, 06:41 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Very easy to read and taunt with tension. The backdrop for this mystery is the Gulf coast during the depression and the mood is dark, matching the hopelessness of the era. Koryta intensifies the suspense and intrigues the mind More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/28, 06:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This is a fictionalized account of true events that occurred during the siege of Sarajevo. After witnessing the death of 22 people, killed by mortar shells while waiting on line for bread, a cellist, risks his life to play Albin More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/28, 06:38 PM
Buy From Amazon.com

Skin and Bones, the debut novel by Tom Bale, reminded me of an early James Patterson read. It was fast-paced, action-packed, and filled with suspense. Starting on page one, Bale captured my attention with a thrilling and vivid sc More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2011/02/28, 06:20 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This is a very good book. It may be slightly over hyped, but it certainly deserves of most of the praise it’s receiving. Water for Elephants is a moving tale about circus life during the depression era with quirky characters an More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/21, 01:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

The concept of this book is something the average person does not think about. It’s hard to fathom a world where the brain simply erases the left side of everything. As a result of a brain injury, this is the tragedy that befal More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/02/13, 05:35 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (11 of 18) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending