FIRST PREV (2 of 15) NEXT LAST
fiction

I picked up Katarina Bivald's debut novel because I was looking for a light read. The kind of book that provides an escape. Bam! A few pages in and I'm transported to the small midwestern town of Broken Wheel. It's a feel good More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/02/02, 07:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

We all know life can change in a split second and alter the trajectory of our lives. In the book Faithfull, Alice Hoffman tells the gut wrenching story of Shelby Richmond. She is the driver of the car involved in a terrible accid More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/01/18, 07:52 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a story of survival and how the effects of severe dust storms and drought affect an individual family and a community of farmers at large. The character development is excellent; the author brings the reader straight int More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/01/06, 08:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Relationships can be complicated, especially when it comes to family. Whiskey and Charlie are brothers, identical twins, from the outside you canít tell them apart, but inside each is unique. As Charlie and Whiskey grow, the gap More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/01/06, 08:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This book opens the discussion on a little know practice of the mid 19th century. Many orphaned children were packed into trains and transported to the mid west; where they were put on display for the locals to adopt. Sadly, fam More
Reviewed by- linda -2017/01/06, 08:29 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

I always love it when a story has it's roots in truth and this is just such a story. It's told primarily from the viewpoint of Joe Rantz, one of the nine men from The University of Washington's rowing team, competing in the 1936 More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/21, 10:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Jodi Picoult sends a powerful message with her latest book Small Great Things. As usual, she writes about a current topic and challenges you to re-examine your beliefs. With well-developed characters and an excellent plot she s More
Reviewed by- andrea -2016/12/12, 09:41 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Itís about a child gone missing and is told in alternating viewpoints; Jean, the Widow, who is also the wife of the prime suspect, the detective on the case, the mother of the missing child and a reporter in relentless pursuit of More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/12, 08:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Narrated by the sweet young voice of Dixie Dupree, this book captures the small town Alabama life of a dysfunctional family in 1969. Dixieís father drinks, her mother has a hair trigger temper, money is tight, her support system More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/12, 07:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes is a moving and thought-provoking story. It has two female protagonists who tell their story. Sophie lives in a small French village occupied by the Germans in 1916. Her husband has go More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/14, 08:30 PM
fiction

I recently listened to MODERN LOVERS by Emma Straub on audio. It was light and entertaining but had enough substance to keep me interested. In the audio version, the voices were clear, distinct, and easy to follow. I was able More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/14, 06:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a beautiful cultural read about two Afghanistan women Shekiba and Rahima, one the great ,great grandmother and a source of inspiration for the other. The story sheds light on the sad reality that not much has changed in More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/14, 03:22 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Although THE RENT COLLECTOR is fiction, the inspiration for this book is the documentary film RIVER OF VICTORY. The story is set in Cambodia just after the decline of the Khmer Rouge regime. The two main characters, Sang Ly and More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/14, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

In quick order, Gilly Macmillan presents a compelling scenario and shortly after the reader will start to feel like reading throughout the night. The story revolves around a missing child and is told from the perspective of the More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/02, 08:46 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

As usual, Jodi Picoult likes to write books about current topics. And in the past several years, the treatment of animals has become a hot one. In this book, she tells the story of the majestic elephants. She demonstrates how t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/01, 08:04 PM
Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction fans are going to love this emotionally charged story of the Chinese American struggles and the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act in Seattle; I certainly did. Prior to reading this book I was unaware of this blemish More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/10/17, 05:33 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Don't miss this one! THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, a debut novel by Paula Hawkins, is fascinating. This mystery has three different narrators with distinct and clear voices. The story revolves around secrets, alcohol, cheating and ly More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/10/13, 09:59 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I listened to THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME: A Novel of the Titanic (P.S.) on audio. It's an excellent read and the winner of 2015 Romantic Novelistsí Association award. I don't usually read or listen to romance novels, so this was More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/10/12, 08:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

The Woman in Cabin 10 is a classic whodunit tale, a good one with excellent tension and suspense and itís also nicely paced. Itís a psychological thriller, which takes place on a small luxury boatís maiden voyage, and onboard ar More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/10/11, 09:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

With varying degrees, everyone was touched by the events of the 911 terror attack. I live miles away from ground zero but can still remember the burning sensation in my throat and the eerie silence that descended upon the city as More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/10/11, 09:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

A story of four siblings planning their lives around a trust fund set up by their late father. Everyone is anxiously waiting for the youngest to turn 40 years old so the funds can be paid out. The "Nest" - initially More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/09/09, 04:09 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Ordinary Grace is fabulous a book, one I didnít want to end. I think it was the beautifully developed characters, so believable and real that grabbed me. Or maybe it was the 1960ís setting vividly depicted and perfectly capture More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/09/07, 04:23 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

THE SUMMER BEFORE THE WAR by Helen Simonson is one the best book I've listened to in a while! I agree with the Washington Post when it says, " It's your cure to Downton Abby Withdrawl." I couldn't stop listening to t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/07/25, 04:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

As the winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize, I'd heard good things about this book and decided to listen to it on Audio. I would have preferred reading it rather than listening to it because it's descriptive and you need to pay More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/05/01, 07:28 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

To read her story is to be a witness, however remote, to the evil that plagues certain parts of the world and to the fear that ignites in people, the need to suppress others. Courage is fleeting and hard to measure. The same goe More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/04/10, 06:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (2 of 15) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks