FIRST PREV (2 of 15) NEXT LAST
non fiction

I always love it when a story has it's roots in truth and this is just such a story. It's told primarily from the viewpoint of Joe Rantz, one of the nine men from The University of Washington's rowing team, competing in the 1936 More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/21, 10:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Jodi Picoult sends a powerful message with her latest book Small Great Things. As usual, she writes about a current topic and challenges you to re-examine your beliefs. With well-developed characters and an excellent plot she s More
Reviewed by- andrea -2016/12/12, 09:41 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

It’s about a child gone missing and is told in alternating viewpoints; Jean, the Widow, who is also the wife of the prime suspect, the detective on the case, the mother of the missing child and a reporter in relentless pursuit of More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/12, 08:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Narrated by the sweet young voice of Dixie Dupree, this book captures the small town Alabama life of a dysfunctional family in 1969. Dixie’s father drinks, her mother has a hair trigger temper, money is tight, her support system More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/12, 07:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes is a moving and thought-provoking story. It has two female protagonists who tell their story. Sophie lives in a small French village occupied by the Germans in 1916. Her husband has go More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/14, 08:30 PM
fiction

I recently listened to MODERN LOVERS by Emma Straub on audio. It was light and entertaining but had enough substance to keep me interested. In the audio version, the voices were clear, distinct, and easy to follow. I was able More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/14, 06:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is a beautiful cultural read about two Afghanistan women Shekiba and Rahima, one the great ,great grandmother and a source of inspiration for the other. The story sheds light on the sad reality that not much has changed in More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/14, 03:22 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Although THE RENT COLLECTOR is fiction, the inspiration for this book is the documentary film RIVER OF VICTORY. The story is set in Cambodia just after the decline of the Khmer Rouge regime. The two main characters, Sang Ly and More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/14, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

In quick order, Gilly Macmillan presents a compelling scenario and shortly after the reader will start to feel like reading throughout the night. The story revolves around a missing child and is told from the perspective of the More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/11/02, 08:46 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

As usual, Jodi Picoult likes to write books about current topics. And in the past several years, the treatment of animals has become a hot one. In this book, she tells the story of the majestic elephants. She demonstrates how t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/11/01, 08:04 PM
Historical Fiction

Historical Fiction fans are going to love this emotionally charged story of the Chinese American struggles and the 1882 Chinese Exclusion Act in Seattle; I certainly did. Prior to reading this book I was unaware of this blemish More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/10/17, 05:33 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

Don't miss this one! THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, a debut novel by Paula Hawkins, is fascinating. This mystery has three different narrators with distinct and clear voices. The story revolves around secrets, alcohol, cheating and ly More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/10/13, 09:59 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I listened to THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME: A Novel of the Titanic (P.S.) on audio. It's an excellent read and the winner of 2015 Romantic Novelists’ Association award. I don't usually read or listen to romance novels, so this was More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/10/12, 08:59 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
mystery

The Woman in Cabin 10 is a classic whodunit tale, a good one with excellent tension and suspense and it’s also nicely paced. It’s a psychological thriller, which takes place on a small luxury boat’s maiden voyage, and onboard ar More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/10/11, 09:49 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

With varying degrees, everyone was touched by the events of the 911 terror attack. I live miles away from ground zero but can still remember the burning sensation in my throat and the eerie silence that descended upon the city as More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/10/11, 09:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

A story of four siblings planning their lives around a trust fund set up by their late father. Everyone is anxiously waiting for the youngest to turn 40 years old so the funds can be paid out. The "Nest" - initially More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/09/09, 04:09 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Ordinary Grace is fabulous a book, one I didn’t want to end. I think it was the beautifully developed characters, so believable and real that grabbed me. Or maybe it was the 1960’s setting vividly depicted and perfectly capture More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/09/07, 04:23 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

THE SUMMER BEFORE THE WAR by Helen Simonson is one the best book I've listened to in a while! I agree with the Washington Post when it says, " It's your cure to Downton Abby Withdrawl." I couldn't stop listening to t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/07/25, 04:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

As the winner of the 2014 Man Booker Prize, I'd heard good things about this book and decided to listen to it on Audio. I would have preferred reading it rather than listening to it because it's descriptive and you need to pay More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/05/01, 07:28 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

To read her story is to be a witness, however remote, to the evil that plagues certain parts of the world and to the fear that ignites in people, the need to suppress others. Courage is fleeting and hard to measure. The same goe More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/04/10, 06:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

Ove is a “don’t judge a book by its cover kind of man.” When you first meet – he is different - the self-appointed mayor of the neighborhood who performs a series of daily tasks that annoy. He notices everything. He barks at th More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/04/10, 06:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I loved this book! Anthony Doerr masterfully weaves an intriguing story about the lives of two young children during the occupation of France in WWII. I'll admit I love a WWII story, and there are plenty of them out there, but More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/04/03, 06:19 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
fiction

I listened to this book on Audio, and I wanted to discuss it with someone after the first chapter. Daisy, a beautiful young woman, is given the news her cancer is back, and she only has a few months to live. Her quest is to find More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/04/03, 05:56 AM
fiction

I found “The Brothers Sisters” by Patrick Dewitt to be a fresh and innovative novel. As a Man Booker contender, this book was an intimate glimpse into the hard and sometimes brutal Old West of the 1850’s. Two brothers, Eli and Ch More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/03/13, 11:29 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
non fiction

I know this is an older book, but I desperately want to see the movie, and I always try to read the book first. I think what drew me to the book in the first place is I can't imagine why anyone would put themselves through the p More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/01/23, 02:03 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (2 of 15) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks