FIRST PREV (2 of 19) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction

The premise of this book is not unusual, at least if you read a lot of historical fiction about WWI. And, yes this is a story about the Nazis, but their presence is muted in this tale. It doesnít mitigate the heinousness or the e More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

Wow, this book really kept me guessing. Itís good; cleverly written, fast-paced, suspenseful and perfectly plotted. There are many twists and turns you wonít see coming, but be warned, the first twist is positively brilliant. More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Jojo Moyes has a knack for taking ordinary events and infusing them with tension, so you just want to keep reading. As usual, in this story, her characters are very normal and real, you like them and want to find out what happens More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:39 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This story takes place, during WWII. It follows two women, Liv, a photographer, and Jane, a journalist, who are covering events following D Day. Real life women inspired the story; this always takes things up a notch or two. It More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:37 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iíve read a lot of World War II books, most detailing abominable acts against humanity. So, I was a bit surprised that I did not know about the events happening in this book. Be warned; this story portrays much evil and sufferin More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/08, 11:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

IF THE CREEK DONíT RISE is an in-depth portrayal of life in the Appalachian Mountains. I love character-driven novels, and all I can say is this one is fabulous. Itís page-turning, but itís not only the tension and suspense driv More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I thoroughly enjoyed this psychological thriller. Anna suffers from severe acrophobia. She spends her days looking out the window, peeking into windows and taking pictures of her neighbors. She also visits online chat rooms, dr More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Iím a Paris kind of person. I love reading and learning more about this beautiful city; matching my remembered perception with the authorís portrayal. Iím secretly hoping the author captures the cityís charms so I can visit vicar More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The Midwife's Revolt is the first book in The Midwife Series by Jodi Daynard about the revolutionary war. As a historical fiction lover, I enjoyed reading about the women who took up arms for the cause. If you enjoy books with st More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/01/18, 12:56 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I loved this book for several reasons. To start with, Eliza Hamilton was a strong woman, and strong, inspirational women get me every time. I also love reading about the role women played in different eras and the contentment the More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:53 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I picked up this book because I love everything Paris. I was also intrigued because I can remember reading about an abandoned Paris apartment, filled with artwork, being discovered a few years back. In this story Flora is an art More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

One of the things I like most about this book is that, although a fictionalized account of a true person, it feels real. Itís also inspiring to read about a young woman ahead of her time. Sixteen year- ld Eliza Lucas is incredib More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/06, 09:55 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I was drawn to this book because I was craving a good historical fiction story. This one takes place in the 1940s and explores many issues of the times. Itís well researched and just when you think you have things figured out, More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Iím not sure why I ended up reading this book because itís not my usual genre. I think I liked the cover. Itís so creative and colorful, it just drew me in. Well, the book is witty and engaging, filled with outrageous characters More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I grabbed this book because of the great reviews it was getting. And although it took a while, once it pulled me in, I was hooked. Itís a story that has plenty going for it; like lots of atmosphere, a clever plot and some surpri More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:55 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Iíve read several of Elin Hilderbrandís books. I love her clean writing style and her incredible talent for creating atmosphere. In WINTER SOLSTICE, her descriptions of Nantucket, make you feel like youíve lived there your entir More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:06 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

A different perspective on the Civil War. Itís a story of a young and passionate girl, recently home from college, working to help slaves cross the NY Canadian border to safety. She faces many challenges as she struggles to d More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:05 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

At its core, this is a story of a manís love for his family and his quite ordinary life. Jason is content. He's a college professor. He owns a nice home in the suburbs of Chicago. Heís happy. However, the idyllic life portray More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:04 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This is a beautiful story, but it should come with a warning. It is disturbing and covers some uncomfortable controversial topics.It is the story of two people; both abused as children. Wavyís father is a drug dealer, and her mot More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/05, 11:49 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I was a big fan of this this authorís THE KITCHEN HOUSE, so when I read Glory Over Everything picks up where that story left off, I was thrilled and couldnít wait to read it. Glory Over Everything is a story that follows James Py More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/25, 06:06 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

I love when a book is atmospheric and so full of rich details, you feel immersed in a time period. Reading about New York City no matter the century is also a favorite past time. So, no surprise that I immensely enjoyed THE ADDR More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/25, 06:03 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

A story that is disturbing and unsettling, one you wonít want to put down. Itís a thriller thatís complex, multi layered and twisty. Milly is fifteen, the daughter of a serial killer and the main character. She suffered physical More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/25, 06:01 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

This is a very fast paced clever whodunit. It is also a book within a book. I thought it was brilliant. Just when you think the big reveal is coming, the author seamlessly slips in another mystery for you to solve. This book i More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/15, 09:46 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

I liked this book a lot. Right away I could feel the tension building. For starters, Paul seems to have the idyllic life and marriage Ė a great job, two delightful sons, a beautiful wife, a home in the most desirable suburb and More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/15, 09:44 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

This is the touching story of an exceptional friendship that develops between Morgan, a troubled teen living in foster care, and Elizabeth, elderly and living in a nursing home. They meet because Morgan is doing community service More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/15, 09:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (2 of 19) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending