FIRST PREV (3 of 19) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction

I read Jim Fergusís first book, One Thousand White Woman. I loved it and knew the sequel was a must read. I finished this wonderful page-turner in two sittings. Donít worry too much if you havenít read the first book; you will t More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/06, 05:00 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Thriller

What a gem this book is. Right from the start, I found it entertaining and original. Itís a story of love and betrayal with a unique, intriguing plot. There are three main characters. Amber is young, greedy, and jealous. She al More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/26, 12:52 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is an intense story about Lilli, a young unwed mother in the late 1800s. Times were challenging for her, fiercely challenging; as she had so few options open to her. Lilli ended up in the Philadelphia Haven for Women and I More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/24, 01:46 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

What an original and fresh take on the psychological thriller genre. Itís hard to convey how beautifully written this story is; youíll want to linger over the words. The book is full of raw emotion, tempered by a sense of magical More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/24, 01:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

I read ďThe Boy in the Striped PajamasĒ by this author and loved it, this surprised me because itís a YA book. I bought this one, ĒThe Heartís Invisible FuriesĒ because I was curious to read an adult book by John Boyne, but als More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/15, 06:17 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

This is an excellent book for anyone who loves a good story about father-daughter relationships. Sally Cabot Gunning gives many heartwarming details about the intense and complex bond between Martha and her father, Thomas Jeffers More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/15, 06:16 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

Book lovers take note; at the heart of this imaginative mystery is a bookstore, so enjoyment is guaranteed and quick in this entertaining tale. The clever use of books will amaze and surprise you. They are props providing clues t More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/15, 06:15 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

Whenever I read stories about women with incredible inner strength, it awakens something within me. I question why women must struggle so much in a manís world. To some extent, this is still true today. But, in Jennieís case, he More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/10/04, 07:00 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

This story has a unique and compelling plot, and amazingly, as soon as you start reading, you are hooked. It's clear that Walker did a massive amount of research on narcissistic personality disorder, which has always piqued my More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/24, 10:23 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

What I loved about this book is that it immersed me in another time and place, one I am not well versed in, so I learned a lot. Itís an epic saga, spanning generations, showing the complexity of the Japan-Korea relationship. Th More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/24, 10:22 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

The Book opens with the death of Rupert, the patriarch of the Falkes family. Itís a beautifully written book; a family drama where thereís lots of money and many secrets. It tells the story of the heirs and friends of Rupert, gi More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/24, 10:21 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

A young suburban couple decides their marriage needs a boost. There is nothing alarmingly wrong with their relationship, it just feels like itís dipping into the doldrums and getting a bit stagnant. It doesnít need a major over More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/14, 11:57 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

When things start to unfold in this story, the intensity builds quickly, and itís hard to stop reading. Itís told from two perspectives; Max gives us the police procedural side of things and Boady shows us the legal side. What a More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/14, 11:54 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

Who hasnít at some point wondered, what if I have done things differently, taken another path on lifeís journey? Eliza, years after she marries and moves away, begins to question what her life would look like had she stayed in h More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/14, 11:51 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

A story so compelling, youíll share it with everyone you know. Without a doubt, the writing style is beautiful and draws you in. However, the heart of this book revolves around the depth of the characters and the complexities of More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/13, 02:29 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

The unique premise, the ingenious hiding places a talented architect can make for Jews to take refuge and the convincing transformation of Lucien are three things that will linger long after you turn the last page. As the book More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/09/04, 09:16 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

I loved this book. It felt like I was reading the intimate diary of a Hollywood star, glimpsing thoughts and reading about dreams that are meant to be secret. Evelyn, an aging star, decides at age 79, that she wants to tell her More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/24, 01:26 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Fiction

In Home Fire, the author gives us a story of contrasts. She pits good against evil and shows us differing viewpoints of loyalty, love, and bigotry. The plot is involved, delving into womenís issues for the Muslim female, and th More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/24, 01:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

Billie, a mother and wife, goes hiking in a remote part of California and disappears, leaving her teenage daughter, Olive and her husband Jonathan, to pick up the pieces of their lives and move on. However, her body is never fou More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/24, 01:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

There are no guarantees in life, or are there? Is there something that can guarantee a long happy marriage? The founder of The Pact, an exclusive, by invite only secret club, thinks there is. Alice and Jake, just before their More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/14, 07:08 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Historical Fiction

If you want to go back in time and feel what it was like to live at the Barbizon Hotel in 1953, read this book Ė itís filled with so many interesting details of not just the hotel but the era and how difficult it was for women to More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/14, 07:04 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

Maisie is as delightful as ever in this 13th book of the series. And as usual, Jacqueline Winspearís writing style makes you feel as if youíve stepped back in time to another era. Her descriptions of day to day life are realistic More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/14, 07:01 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

A story packed with emotion, suspense and engaging characters. It is a psychological thriller, told from the perspective of four different women, with a smart, twisty plot and good pacing. I liked that the author mixed in some f More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/08, 11:45 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Mystery

I have mixed feelings towards this book. On the one hand, I kept changing my mind on who done it Ė a good thing. The characters are complex and believable Ė also good. I loved the pacing and also enjoyed the twists and turns; t More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/08, 11:34 PM
Mystery

Lying has consequences. If you have any doubts, this is a must read book. Although the story is told from Isaís point of view, itís about four friends who meet at boarding school, get on with their lives and then meet again yea More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/08/08, 11:30 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (3 of 19) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending