FIRST PREV (1 of 6) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction Reviews
;

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939 More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

It is the spring of 1939 and three generations of the Kurc family are doing their best to live normal lives, even as the shadow of war grows closer. The talk around the family Seder table is of new babies and budding romance, not More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/04/02, 05:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out i More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

National Bestseller David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015 The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic World W More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:37 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

For fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943. Hana has li More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/08, 11:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That’s long enough to know she never should have hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby. Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

From the international bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Garden of Letters, comes a story—inspired by true events—of two women pursuing freedom and independence in Paris during WWII. As Paris teeters on the edge of More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Beside the most timeless of heroes stands an exceptional heroine . . . In this beautifully written novel of historical fiction, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott tells the story of Alexander Hamilton’s wife, Eliza—a fas More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:53 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Not every door should be opened . . . With stunning locations and page-turning tension, The Paris Secret is an intense and gripping tale from bestselling author Karen Swan, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore. Somewhere More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family’s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit of his military ambitions. More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/06, 09:55 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

The Stolen Marriage is a compelling novel from Diane Chamberlain, the bestselling author of The Silent Sister, Pretending to Dance and The Midwife’s Confession. In 1944, twenty-three-year-old Tess DeMello abruptly ends her en More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/28, 08:58 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Rooted in the history of the only secessionist town north of the Mason Dixon Line, Daren Wang's The Hidden Light of Northern Fires tells a story of redemption amidst a war that tore families and the country apart. Mary Willis More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/12/17, 12:05 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

From the author of the New York Times bestseller and beloved book club favorite The Kitchen House, a novel of family and long-buried secrets along the treacherous Underground Railroad. Jamie Pyke, son of both a slave and mast More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/25, 06:06 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

AFTER A FAILED APPRENTICESHIP, WORKING HER WAY UP TO HEAD HOUSEKEEPER OF A POSH LONDON HOTEL IS MORE THAN SARA SMYTHE EVER THOUGHT SHE'D MAKE OF HERSELF. But when a chance encounter with Theodore Camden, one of the architects of More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/25, 06:03 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

The stunning sequel to the award-winning novel One Thousand White Women: A Novel. My name is Meggie Kelly and I take up this pencil with my twin sister, Susie. We have nothing left, less than nothing. The village of our Peopl More
Reviewed by- Linda -2017/11/06, 05:00 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 6) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending