FIRST PREV (1 of 7) NEXT LAST
Historical Fiction Reviews
;

It is 1914, and the world has been on the brink of war so often, many New Yorkers treat the subject with only passing interest. Eliza Ferriday is thrilled to be traveling to St. Petersburg with Sofya Streshnayva, a cousin of the More
Reviewed by- -2019/06/17, 05:08 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He’s a normal Italian teenager—obsessed with music, food, and girls—but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bomb More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2019/06/06, 06:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A REESE WITHERSPOON BOOK CLUB PICK “A beautiful novel that’s full of forbidden passions, family secrets and a lot of courage and sacrifice.”–Reese Witherspoon After the death of her beloved grandmother, a Cuban-American w More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/05/27, 07:11 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

1946, Manhattan Grace Healey is rebuilding her life after losing her husband during the war. One morning while passing through Grand Central Terminal on her way to work, she finds an abandoned suitcase tucked beneath a bench. Un More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2019/04/05, 03:08 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

This beautiful, illuminating tale of hope and courage is based on interviews that were conducted with Holocaust survivor and Auschwitz tattooist Ludwig, Lale Sokolov, an unforgettable love story in the midst of atrocity. The More
Reviewed by- Linda -2019/03/04, 07:08 PM
Buy From Amazon.com l
;

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939 More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/03/21, 05:34 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

It is the spring of 1939 and three generations of the Kurc family are doing their best to live normal lives, even as the shadow of war grows closer. The talk around the family Seder table is of new babies and budding romance, not More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2018/04/02, 05:18 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out i More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/27, 11:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

National Bestseller David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015 The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic World W More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/19, 09:37 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

For fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943. Hana has li More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/02/08, 11:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That’s long enough to know she never should have hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby. Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

From the international bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Garden of Letters, comes a story—inspired by true events—of two women pursuing freedom and independence in Paris during WWII. As Paris teeters on the edge of More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/28, 01:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Beside the most timeless of heroes stands an exceptional heroine . . . In this beautifully written novel of historical fiction, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott tells the story of Alexander Hamilton’s wife, Eliza—a fas More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:53 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Not every door should be opened . . . With stunning locations and page-turning tension, The Paris Secret is an intense and gripping tale from bestselling author Karen Swan, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore. Somewhere More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/18, 12:48 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family’s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit of his military ambitions. More
Reviewed by- Linda -2018/01/06, 09:55 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 7) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending