FIRST PREV (1 of 2) NEXT LAST
Reviews
;

Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would la More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2017/04/24, 10:13 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times,the improbable, intimate account of how nine working class boys from More
Reviewed by- linda -2016/12/21, 10:47 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A MEMOIR BY THE YOUNGEST RECIPIENT OF THE NOBEL PEACE PRIZE "I come from a country that was created at midnight. When I almost died it was just after midday." When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in P More
Reviewed by- Linda -2016/04/10, 06:25 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A bank of clouds was assembling on the not-so-distant horizon, but journalist-mountaineer Jon Krakauer, standing on the summit of Mt. Everest, saw nothing that "suggested that a murderous storm was bearing down." He was More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2016/01/23, 02:03 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Her name was Henrietta Lacks, but scientists know her as HeLa. She was a poor black tobacco farmer whose cells—taken without her knowledge in 1951—became one of the most important tools in medicine, vital for developing the polio More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2013/01/25, 11:55 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

“Larson is a marvelous writer...superb at creating characters with a few short strokes.”—New York Times Book Review. Erik Larson has been widely acclaimed as a master of narrative non-fiction, and in his new book, the bestselling More
Reviewed by- linda -2012/06/25, 07:57 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYJanet Maslin, The New York Times • People • Vogue ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR—Financial Times • Chicago Sun-Times The Independent • Bookreporter The Sunday Business PostMom love More
Reviewed by- linda -2012/01/20, 03:00 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

In the summer of 1991 I was a normal kid. I did normal things. I had friends and a mother who loved me. I was just like you. Until the day my life was stolen. For eighteen years I was a prisoner. I was an object for someone t More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/09/05, 07:35 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Choosing a mate is like picking house paint from one of those tiny color squares: You never know how it will look across a large expanse, or how it will change in different light. Meet Janna and Graeme. After a decade-long tan More
Reviewed by- linda -2011/06/05, 07:28 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

The inspiring account of one mans campaign to build schools in the most dangerous, remote, and anti- American reaches of Asia In 1993 Greg Mortenson was the exhausted survivor of a failed attempt to ascend K2, an American cli More
Reviewed by- Haley -2011/01/22, 09:46 AM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the beginning, they lived like nomads, moving among Southwest d More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/12/28, 05:42 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

On a May afternoon in 1943, an Army Air Forces bomber crashed into the Pacific Ocean and disappeared, leaving only a spray of debris and a slick of oil, gasoline, and blood. Then, on the ocean surface, a face appeared. It was t More
Reviewed by- Andrea -2010/12/12, 06:01 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

From the book description: In 2004, Kevin Malarkey and his six-year-old son, Alex, suffered an horrific car accident. The impact from the crash paralyzed Alex—and medically speaking, it was unlikely that he could survive. “I thin More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/11/02, 06:56 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A celebrated writers irresistible, candid, and eloquent account of her pursuit of worldly pleasure, spiritual devotion, and what she really wanted out of life Around the time Elizabeth Gilbert turned thirty, she went through an More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:47 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
;

A New York Times Notable Book An O, The Oprah Magazine Terrific Read of the Year A Huffington Post Best Book of the Year A New Yorker Favorite Book of the Year A Chicago Tribune Favorite Nonfiction Book of the Year A Kan More
Reviewed by- linda -2010/08/23, 06:43 PM
Buy From Amazon.com
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 2) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending