Heat Wave
Reviewed by- linda (2011/08/02, 06:32 PM)
This is a nice easy story about relationships. Itís predictable, full of warm characters and has a layered but simple plot making it the perfect beach or vacation read. The rich detailed description of charming Nantucket also leaves you craving a visit. The central theme revolves around Carley Winsted, a young woman in her thirties who finds herself widowed and financially unstable, with two young daughters to raise. This novel examines the process Carley goes through to pick up the pieces and become a positive role model for her daughters. Also central to the plot are her two best friends. Thayer does an excellent job of creating intimacy between the women and pulling the reader emotionally into their lives. Donít be surprised if you find yourself grabbing for a Kleenex or two, it has some very poignant moments. Recommend for those who enjoy stories about female bonding, the inner workings of marriage and the drama of betrayal. This book will also appeal to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Maeve Binchy.Back.

| More
Buy From Amazon.com
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending