FIRST PREV (1 of 21) NEXT LAST
fiction
Rules of Civility
by Amor Towles
From The Jacket: A sophisticated and entertaining debut novel about an irresistible young woman with an uncommon sense of purpose. Set in New York City in 1938, Rules of Civility tells the story of a watershed year in the life of an uncompromisin More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

Fiction
Rosie Colored Glasses
by Brianna Wolfson
From The Jacket: SEEING THE WORLD THROUGH ROSIE COLORED GLASSES Just as opposites attract, they can also cause friction, and no one feels that friction more than Rex and Rosie’s daughter, Willow. Rex is serious and unsentimental and tapes che More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A moving story about a carefree spirited woman, a serious disciplined man and complicated relationship that develops between them. Rosie and Rex never should have married, but they did. They never should have had children. But, they did. What follows is not only a story of the push and pull of divorced parents sharing responsibilities, but a lesson in different parenting styles and a story that examines many issues. Excellent, recommend.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:55 PM

Fiction
Anatomy of a Scandal
by Sarah Vaughan
From The Jacket: You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him. “The courtroom yields high drama, but Vaughan also dives deep into the characters’ backstories—especially the entitled lives of powerful men—creating a nuanced story More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A book that is relevant given the current headlines about sex and men in power that dominate the news lately. It’s suspenseful and examines issues of class, money and the balance of power between the sexes. A happily married, British politician is accused of raping his young assistant. It sheds light on the issue of sexual consent, and looks at what can be considered grey areas.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:48 PM

Historical Fiction
Before We Were Yours
by Lisa Wingate
From The Jacket: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”* Memphis, 1939 More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Inspired by true events, an emotional story about poor children who were kidnapped and sold to wealthy families, shedding light on a despicable practice that went on for too many years. Highly recommend.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:32 PM

Fiction
The House We Grew Up In
by Lisa Jewell
From The Jacket: Meet the picture-perfect Bird family: pragmatic Meg, dreamy Beth, and towheaded twins Rory and Rhys, one an adventurous troublemaker, the other his slighter, more sensitive counterpart. Their father is a sweet, gangly man, but it More

Buy From Amazon.com

Great story about the different ways of tragedy can affect someone. It's engaging and explores many topics such as mental illness and the intricacies of relationships and hoarding. All the characters are flawed, and the general tone of the book is uplifting
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:23 PM

Fiction
The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas
From The Jacket: Sixteen year old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal sho More

Buy From Amazon.com

An emotional and thought provoking story about class and race. And one that is in step with current events; a police officer fatally shoots a young black man and then does not tell the truth. This is the story of the young 16 year old girl, who was witness to the shooting.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:22 PM

Historical Fiction
We Were the Lucky Ones
by Georgia Hunter
From The Jacket: It is the spring of 1939 and three generations of the Kurc family are doing their best to live normal lives, even as the shadow of war grows closer. The talk around the family Seder table is of new babies and budding romance, not More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Fantastic historical fiction and my favorite kind, one based on true events; Georgia Hunter's grandfather was a member of the real family. It takes place just before and during WWII. Recommend to anyone who loves stories that revolve around families, and a must read for WWII fans.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:21 PM

Thriller
Just Between Us
by Rebecca Drake
From The Jacket: Four suburban mothers conspire to cover up a deadly crime in Just Between Us, a heart-stopping novel of suspense by Rebecca Drake. Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, t More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A well plotted story with an excellent premise. Four friends who at least from the outside, have perfect lives and a wonderful supportive relationship. Then, something happens and their idyllic live becomes a nightmare. It is one of those books that is hard to put down.
by-Linda 2018/02/27, 11:14 PM

Historical Fiction
The Orphans Tale
by Pam Jenoff
From The Jacket: A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan's Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out i More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

An emotional story of two women who start out with a prickly relationship but develop an incredible bond as they attempt to survive the war. It touches on the reality of the many people separated and orphaned by the war and the brave acts of those who helped them.
by-Linda 2018/02/27, 11:13 PM

fiction
Little Broken Things
by Nicole Baart
From The Jacket: “If you liked Big Little Lies, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.” —Southern Living An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

An intriguing book with many secrets to discover and some clever plotting; this is a book that is suspenseful, tugs at your emotions, and is filled with family drama. Perfect for those that enjoy light engaging read.
by-Linda 2018/02/27, 10:58 PM

Thriller
The Wife Between Us
by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen
From The Jacket: When you read this book, you will make many assumptions. You will assume you are reading about a jealous ex-wife. You will assume she is obsessed with her replacement – a beautiful, younger woman who is about to marry the man th More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Twisty plot and cleverly written. A fast paced domestic thriller with a few very unexpected surprises. Read the book blurb and believe it. You will make a lot of assumptions and you will guess wring.
by-Linda 2018/02/19, 09:30 PM

fiction
Still Me
by Jojo Moyes
From The Jacket: From the sensational #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa Clark Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident t More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A fantastic sequel with a great cast of characters and a heartwarming plot. You’ll love spending more time with Louisa as she tackle NYC.
by-Linda 2018/02/19, 09:28 PM

Historical Fiction
The Race For Paris
by
From The Jacket: National Bestseller David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction, Honorary Mention for 2015 The New York Times bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters returns with a moving and powerfully dynamic World W More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is an interesting look at WWI from a female perspective. It’s a well told tale that focuses on the events following D Day, highlighting the immense struggles and obstacles women faced.
by-Linda 2018/02/19, 09:27 PM

Historical Fiction
White Chrysanthemum
by Mary Lynn Bracht
From The Jacket: For fans of Min Jin Lee’s Pachinko and Lilac Girls, the heartbreaking history of Korea is brought to life in this deeply moving and redemptive debut that follows two sisters separated by World War II. Korea, 1943. Hana has li More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A young women is taken by a Japanese soldier to become a comfort woman, which is a sex slave. Sounds like fiction, but the story is based on things that really happened during WWII when the Japanese occupied Korea. Recommend for historical fiction lovers.
by-Linda 2018/02/08, 11:42 PM

Historical Fiction
If The Creek Don't Rise
by Leah Weiss
From The Jacket: Sadie Blue has been a wife for fifteen days. That’s long enough to know she never should have hitched herself to Roy Tupkin, even with the baby. Sadie is desperate to make her own mark on the world, but in remote Appalachia, More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Raw, gritty characters and a strong sense of time and place in this poignant story of life in the 1970s Appalachian Mountains. A must read for anyone who likes character driven stories.
by-Linda 2018/01/28, 01:52 PM

Historical Fiction
The Velvet Hours
by Alyson Richman
From The Jacket: From the international bestselling author of The Lost Wife and The Garden of Letters, comes a story—inspired by true events—of two women pursuing freedom and independence in Paris during WWII. As Paris teeters on the edge of More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A captivating historical fiction story inspired by actual events; a Paris apartment, closed during WWI, that sat untouched for over 70 years. This story is poignant and filled with history and art. Marthe is fascinating to read about; a courtesan during the Belle Époque era, that scraped her way to a better life. And her granddaughter; who is nineteen years old when she first learns of Marthe’s existence. Their relationship is touching.
by-Linda 2018/01/28, 01:44 PM

Thriller
The Woman in the Window
by A. J. Finn
From The Jacket: Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller! For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a ma More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A dark psychological thriller. It’s about a woman with a haunting past. She suffers from agoraphobia, a fear of being outside. Housebound, she entertains herself by spying on her neighbors, visiting online chat rooms and other solitary activities. This book has lots of twists, a surprise or two and short chapters that will keep you reading.
by-Linda 2018/01/28, 01:26 PM

Historical Fiction
The Midwifes Revolt
by Jodi Daynard
From The Jacket: On a dark night in 1775, Lizzie Boylston is awakened by the sound of cannons. From a hill south of Boston, she watches as fires burn in Charlestown, in a battle that she soon discovers has claimed her husband’s life. Alone in More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

An engaging story that combines history, mystery, and romance to immerse you in the Revolutionary period. A young widow survives by farming and using her midwife skills, and goes on to become involved in the Revolution.
by-Linda 2018/01/18, 01:20 AM

Historical Fiction
I Eliza Hamilton
by Susan Holloway Scott
From The Jacket: Beside the most timeless of heroes stands an exceptional heroine . . . In this beautifully written novel of historical fiction, bestselling author Susan Holloway Scott tells the story of Alexander Hamilton’s wife, Eliza—a fas More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is the story of Eliza Hamilton, and it's an intimate look at her life and her family's life. A lot of time is devoted to her husband, Alexander Hamilton, a very passionate man, which was not always a good thing. There are also many fantastic details of the Revolutionary period in our country's history.
by-Linda 2018/01/18, 01:17 AM

Historical Fiction
The Paris Secret
by Karen Swan
From The Jacket: Not every door should be opened . . . With stunning locations and page-turning tension, The Paris Secret is an intense and gripping tale from bestselling author Karen Swan, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore. Somewhere More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

An engaging and intense mystery with an international setting that explores why an apartment in Paris, full of precious works of art and artifacts, is abandoned and kept secret for 73 years. Recommend
by-Linda 2018/01/18, 01:17 AM

Historical Fiction
The Indigo Girl
by Natasha Boyd
From The Jacket: The year is 1739. Eliza Lucas is sixteen years old when her father leaves her in charge of their family’s three plantations in rural South Carolina and then proceeds to bleed the estates dry in pursuit of his military ambitions. More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

My favorite kind of book; the true account of an ambitious young woman finding her way in a closed society, a man’s world. A young woman far ahead of her time, Eliza Lucas possesses strong values and a defiant nature. She is scrappy, outspoken and goes for the brass ring in life.
by-Linda 2018/01/06, 09:52 AM

Thriller
He Said She Said
by Erin Kelly
From The Jacket: n the summer of 1999, Kit and Laura travel to a festival in Cornwall to see a total eclipse of the sun. Kit is an eclipse chaser; Laura has never seen one before. Young and in love, they are certain this will be the first of many More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A psychological thriller with lots of nuanced layers and clues to keep you turning the pages. The characters are believable and the writing style understated and some very interesting twists and turns.
by-Linda 2017/12/28, 09:06 PM

Historical Fiction
The Stolen Marriage
by Diane Chamberlain
From The Jacket: The Stolen Marriage is a compelling novel from Diane Chamberlain, the bestselling author of The Silent Sister, Pretending to Dance and The Midwife’s Confession. In 1944, twenty-three-year-old Tess DeMello abruptly ends her en More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A wonderful saga that looks at the polio epidemic of the 1940s and also explores issues of religion, discrimination and my favorite, the treatment and social standing of women.
by-Linda 2017/12/28, 09:05 PM

fiction
Rich People Problems
by Kevin Kwan
From The Jacket: Kevin Kwan, bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians (soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Gemma Chan) and China Rich Girlfriend, is back with an uproarious new novel of a famil More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

The final book of Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians trilogy - charming, funny and satirical with the same over the top characters and situations as the previous books in this trilogy.
by-Linda 2017/12/27, 10:48 PM

fiction
The Winter Solstice
by Elin Hilderbrand
From The Jacket: *The USA Today Bestseller* Raise one last glass with the Quinn Family at the Winter Street Inn. It’s been too long since the entire Quinn family has been able to celebrate the holidays under the same roof, but that’s about to More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A perfect ending to a wonderful series. Elin Hilderbrand once again works her magic, creating beautiful atmosphere and a wonderful family. A little sad so have some Kleenex ready.
by-Linda 2017/12/17, 12:01 AM

Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 21) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending