FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
non fiction
Hidden Figures
by Margot Lee Shetterly
From The Jacket: Before John Glenn orbited the earth, or Neil Armstrong walked on the moon, a group of dedicated female mathematicians known as “human computers” used pencils, slide rules and adding machines to calculate the numbers that would la More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Although I picked this book, knowing it was a nonfiction read, I expected it to read more like a story. Perhaps it was all the media attention surrounding the movie. I throughly enjoyed the book, but would only recommend this book for the true nonfiction reader.
by-Andrea 2017/04/24, 10:36 PM

mystery
Big Little Lies
by Liane Moriarty
From The Jacket: THE #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER NOW AN HBO LIMITED SERIES STARRING REESE WITHERSPOON, NICOLE KIDMAN, SHAILENE WOODLEY, ALEXANDER SKARSGÅRD, LAURA DERN, ADAM SCOTT, AND ZOË KRAVITZ FROM THE DIRECTOR OF WILD AND DALLAS BUYERS C More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Historical Fiction
Finding Rebecca
by Eoin Dempsey
From The Jacket: Nothing could keep Christopher and Rebecca apart: not her abusive parents, or even the fiancé she brought home after running away to England. But when World War II finally strikes the island of Jersey, the Nazi invaders ship Rebe More



No Comments

Historical Fiction
News of the World
by Paulette Jiles
From The Jacket: It is 1870 and Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Captain Kidd is one of those characters you will fall in love with. He carries the book. Johanna, a young orphan he takes into his care is also fantastic. Great book.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:51 AM

fiction
My Not So Perfect Life
by Sophie Kinsella
From The Jacket: Everywhere Katie Brenner looks, someone else is living the life she longs for, particularly her boss, Demeter Farlowe. Demeter is brilliant and creative, lives with her perfect family in a posh townhouse, and wears the coolest cl More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A light but engaging story with a few healthy lessons. It is a perfect mix of a little love, some family dynamics and a not so great employee boss relationship.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:23 AM

Historical Fiction
A Piece Of The World
by Christina Baker Kline
From The Jacket: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the smash bestseller Orphan Train, a stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion, and art, inspired by Andrew Wyeth’s mysterious and iconic painting Christina’s World. & More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This story is based on facts, which I think makes it all the more intriguing. It tells the story of what Wyeths muse, Christina Olsen may have been like. The writing is poetic and the character are complex, developed and real.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:22 AM

fiction
The Rosie Project
by Graeme Simsion
From The Jacket: Now in paperback, the international bestselling romantic comedy “bursting with warmth, emotional depth, and…humor,” (Entertainment Weekly) featuring the oddly charming, socially challenged genetics professor, Don, as he seeks tru More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Fun engaging read with quirky heartwarming characters. A charming and unique love story. Hard to put down once you start.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:20 AM

Historical Fiction
The Last Midwife
by Sandra Dallas
From The Jacket: It is 1880 and Gracy Brookens is the only midwife in a small Colorado mining town, where she has delivered hundreds, maybe thousands, of babies in her lifetime. The women of Swandyke trust and depend on Gracy, and most couldn’t i More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is well researched historical fiction on what is was like to be a midwife an a woman in an 1880 mining town. Good book club book.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 09:59 AM

fiction
Everything I Never Told You
by Celeste Ng
From The Jacket: Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet . . . So begins the story of this exquisite debut novel, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee; their More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a great family drama. It's set in the 70s, so there are race and gender issues. The writing is subtle but engaging. A great book club choice.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 08:50 PM

fiction
A Dog's Purpose
by W. Bruce Cameron
From The Jacket: Based on the beloved bestselling novel by W. Bruce Cameron, A Dog’s Purpose, from director Lasse Hallström (The Cider House Rules, Dear John, The 100-Foot Journey), shares the soulful and surprising story of one devoted dog (voic More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This was one of my favorite books! I don't often cry when reading books, but this one had me reaching for the tissues. I can't wait to see the movie.
by-Andrea 2017/03/22, 02:16 AM

Historical Fiction
Lilac Girls
by Martha Hall Kelly
From The Jacket: New York socialite Caroline Ferriday has her hands full with her post at the French consulate and a new love on the horizon. But Caroline’s world is forever changed when Hitler’s army invades Poland in September 1939—and then set More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This book stays with you, I couldn't get the characters out of my head. Fantastic!
by-Andrea 2017/03/15, 11:56 AM

mystery
The Life We Bury
by Alen Eskens
From The Jacket: The Life We Bury tells the story of Joe Talbert, a junior at the University of Minnesota, who receives a class assignment to write a biography of someone who has lived an interesting life. At a nursing home he meets Carl Iverson, More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Allen Eskens is an amazingly talented author. I could not put this down. If you are looking for a great suspense novel, this is it! At one point, I thought I had it figured out only to get a BIG surprise! This is a must read. Enjoy!
by-Trish 2017/03/14, 07:17 AM

mystery
I Let You Go
by Clare Mackintosh
From The Jacket: The New York Times and award-winning bestselling novel “with a killer twist” (#1 New York Times bestselling author Paula Hawkins) On a rainy afternoon, a mother’s life is shattered as her son slips from her grip and runs into More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Very engaging and very suspenseful. Tackles many issues - guilt, grief, bullying and more. Good mystery.
by-Linda 2017/03/07, 07:03 PM

mystery
Before The Fall
by Noah Hawley
From The Jacket: From the Emmy, PEN, Peabody, Critics' Choice, and Golden Globe Award-winning creator of the TV show Fargo comes the thriller of the year. On a foggy summer night, eleven people--ten privileged, one down-on-his-luck painter--de More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a book about the choices people make and also dealing with what life throws at you. An entertaining read that will keep you fully engaged.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 09:17 PM

mystery
Everything You Want Me To Be
by Mindy Mejia
From The Jacket: Full of twists and turns, Everything You Want Me to Be reconstructs a year in the life of a dangerously mesmerizing young woman, during which a small town’s darkest secrets come to the forefront…and she inches closer and closer t More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Full of twists and turns, this thriller is engaging, suspenseful and hard to put down. It's a book that will stay with you for a while after you have finished it.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 09:11 PM

mystery
The Guest Room
by Chris Bohjalian
From The Jacket: When Kristin Chapman agrees to let her husband, Richard, host his brother’s bachelor party, she expects a certain amount of debauchery. She takes their young daughter to Manhattan for the evening, leaving her Westchester home to More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Aside from being a great thriller, Chris Bohjalian brings to light, the problem of the sex trafficking trade in this book. He also includes some family drama. Recommend!
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 09:06 PM

mystery
The Girl Before
by J.D. Delaney
From The Jacket: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

A good psychological thriller. I loved reading about this amazing house, built by the architect in the story, which controlled everything through an advanced computer program. It's a really intriguing premise and fun to read about. There is plenty of suspense and mystery too.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 09:01 PM

mystery
The Widowers Wife
by Cate Holahan
From The Jacket: Ana Bacon, a young housewife, tumbles off a cruise ship into the dark and deadly waters, but did she take her secrets with her? Investigator Ryan Monahan is a numbers man. So when his company sends him the Bacon case, which coul More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is an engaging thriller with lots of suspense and tension. I saw one of the twists coming, but it did't take away from the story because I was already invested in the characters.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 08:54 PM

mystery
While The City Slept
by Eli Sanders
From The Jacket: On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love—Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other—and a y More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

The author of the book, Eli Sanders, won a Pulitzer for his coverage of the actual crime this book is based on. He rails against the mental health system and opens your eyes to all it's short falls. He gives you details of the assault and murder which took place, and humanizes the two victims by giving you an in-depth look at their backgrounds.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 08:43 PM

non fiction
When Breath Becomes Air
by Paul Kalanithi
From The Jacket: At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patien More

Buy From Amazon.com

This book is not for me. I am looking for something more like literature.
by-Suzanne 2017/03/01, 12:46 PM

fiction
The Nix
by Nathan Hill
From The Jacket: “The Nix is a mother-son psychodrama with ghosts and politics, but it’s also a tragicomedy about anger and sanctimony in America. . . . Nathan Hill is a maestro.” —John Irving From the suburban Midwest to New York City to th More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Not necessarily for everyone, it's 600 plus pages and a bit wordy. But a treat for those that enjoy this kind of book. Full of witty humor and flawed characters.
by-linda 2017/03/01, 06:58 AM

mystery
Karolinas Twins
by Ronald Balson
From The Jacket: She made a promise in desperation Now it's time to keep it Lena Woodward, elegant and poised, has lived a comfortable life among Chicago Society since she immigrated to the US and began a new life at the end of World War II. More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Part court room drama and part surviving the Holocaust. An engaging book by the author of ONCE WE WERE BROTHERS.
by-linda 2017/03/01, 06:55 AM

fiction
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin
From The Jacket: A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a delightful read all book lovers will enjoy. It's setting is a bookstore and it's an emotional read.
by-Andrea 2017/02/16, 03:58 PM

mystery
Sleepwalker
by Chris Bohjalian
From The Jacket: From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest Room comes a spine-tingling novel of lies, loss, and buried desire—the mesmerizing story of a wife and mother who vanishes from her bed late one night. When Annalee Ahlb More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This book delves deep into the condition of Sleepwalking, a fascinating topic to learn about and as usual, Chris Bohjalian has done his homework. There is also lots of family dynamics and mystery as the reader tries to piece together why Annalee has gone missing and will she return.
by-linda 2017/02/14, 04:23 PM

Historical Fiction
The Second Mrs. Hockaday
by Susan Rivers
From The Jacket: It's 1865 and the Civil War is over. For some survivors, however, the suffering is just beginning. A Confederate field officer walks home from a Union prison to reunite with his teen-aged bride, only to discover that she birthe More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

Maybe a bit slow to start but very deep and engaging when it does grab you. Great for Historical Fiction lovers and perfect for book clubs.
by-linda 2017/02/14, 03:17 PM

Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 18) NEXT LAST
Member Log in
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks