FIRST PREV (2 of 2) NEXT LAST
Mystery
Smoke Screen
by Sandra Brown
From The Jacket: #1 New York Times bestselling author Sandra Brown is back, with a blistering story about corruption, betrayal, and the ultimate abuse of power. When newswoman Britt Shelley wakes up in bed with the handsome and hard-partying J More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

City of Veils
by Zoe Ferraris
From The Jacket: Women in Saudi Arabia are expected to lead quiet lives circumscribed by Islamic tradition. But Katya, one of the few women in the medical examiner's office, is determined to make her work mean something. When the body of a bru More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

The Fleet Street Murders
by Charles Finch
From The Jacket: Called “absorbing” (Publishers Weekly) and “beguiling” (The New York Times Book Review), The Fleet Street Murders finds gentleman detective Charles Lenox investigating the mysterious, simultaneous deaths of two veteran newspaperm More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Still Missing
by Chevy Stevens
From The Jacket: On the day she was abducted, Annie O’Sullivan, a thirty-two year old realtor, had three goals—sell a house, forget about a recent argument with her mother, and be on time for dinner with her ever- patient boyfriend. The open hous More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Storm Chasers
by Jenna Blum
From The Jacket: How far would you go to protect a sibling-and at what cost to yourself? In Those Who Save Us, Jenna Blum proved herself a master storyteller with brilliant insight into the spectrum of human emotion. Now, Blum turns her sight More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

I'd Know You Anywhere
by Laura Lippman
From The Jacket: An edgy, utterly gripping tale of psychological manipulation that will leave readers racing to the final page, "I'd Know You Anywhere" is a virtuoso performance from acclaimed, award-winning author Lippman that is sure More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

The Unit
by Ninni Holmqvist
From The Jacket: When Dorrit Wegner turned fifty, the government transferred her to a state-of-the-art facility where she can live out her days in comfort. Her apartment is furnished to her tastes, her meals expertly served, and all at the very r More

Buy From Amazon.com

A good dystopian book about a society that turns over people that can no longer contribute to society to an organ donor program. Although it was not a realistic concept for me, it was enjoyable to read. Recommend.
by-Jay 2010/09/12, 05:54 PM

Finding Nouf
by Zoe Ferraris
From The Jacket: A captivating page turner that vividly evokes Saudi Arabian society and introduces an original new hero. When sixteen year old Nouf goes missing and is found drowned in the desert outside Jeddah, Nayir,a desert guide hired by her More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a good murder mystery that takes place in Saudi Arabia. I highly recommend this book. Reading about the Saudi culture and the difference in how men and women are treated kept me totally engrossed. I read far beyond my bedtime on several occasions.
by-Melissa 2010/09/06, 09:23 AM

This is an intriguing look at today's Muslim culture from the perspective of an American woman who spent time in Saudi Arabia and was married to a Saudi Palestinian Bedouin. Learning about this culture is the heart of this book but the mystery is also quite interesting.
by-Lyn 2010/01/03, 05:52 AM

The Crossing Places
by Elly Griffiths
From The Jacket: When a child's bones are found near an ancient henge in the wild saltmarshes of Norfolk's north coast, Ruth Galloway, a university lecturer in forensic archaeology, is asked to date them by DCI Harry Nelson. He thinks they may be More

Buy From Amazon.com

I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I loved that the main character is not the kind of perfect that only happens in movies and books. She is very real and a character you can relate to with a great personality. I can’t wait to see what happens next.
by-Amy 2010/09/04, 05:29 AM

Pray For Silence
by Linda Castillo
From The Jacket: New York Times bestselling author Linda Castillo delivers an electrifying thriller in which Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must confront a dark evil to solve the mysterious murders of an entire Amish family. The Plank family mov More

Buy From Amazon.com

I love that this book takes place in Amish country. It’s a good book for anyone who likes a good mystery, a quick easy read that grabs you from the start. I can’t say I was “on the edge of my seat” but the book did keep me turning the pages.
by-Cynthia 2010/09/03, 01:44 PM

The Tale of Halcyon Crane
by Wendy Webb
From The Jacket: When a mysterious letter lands in Hallie James’s mailbox, her life is upended. Hallie was raised by her loving father, having been told her mother died in a fire decades earlier. But it turns out that her mother, Madlyn, was aliv More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Angelology
by Danielle Trussoni
From The Jacket: (3.5 stars) A thrilling epic about an ancient clash reignited in our time between a hidden society and heaven's darkest creatures. "There were giants in the earth in those days; and also after that, when the sons of God came in u More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Lovely Bones
by Alice Sebold
From The Jacket: Alice Sebold's luminous first novel, one of the most celebrated litery debuts of recent seasons, that builds out of a family's grief the most hopeful and joyful of stories. More

Buy From Amazon.com

This book was a page turner for me. The story is heart wrenching and emotionally gripping. I surprised myself when I ended up likening it as it deals with a very hard topic especially if you have children, however Ms Sebold has written this story in such a beautifully sensitive manner I couldn’t help but be drawn in. Definitely put this one on your TBR list.
by-Chaz 2010/01/04, 04:53 PM

I highly recommend this book. After hearing it dealt with the murder of a young girl, I was reluctant to read it. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Emotionally driven and thought provoking.
by-Sara 2009/12/01, 04:58 PM

I agree, an amazing book. The author's simple elegant writing draws you in and the compelling, deep characters keep you there. The beginning of the book is a little rough, but stick with it, it doesn't last long.
by-Lyn 2009/05/18, 05:25 PM

Among The Mad
by Jacqueline Winspear
From The Jacket: (3.5 stars)In the thrilling new novel by the "New York Times" bestselling author of "AnIncomplete Revenge," Maisie Dobbs must catch a madman before he commits murder on an unimaginable scale. It's Christmas Eve 1931. On the way t More

Buy From Amazon.com

(3.5 stars) This is a great cozy mystery. It's slow in pace with the main draw being Maisie Dobbs; she endearing and a delight to read about.
by-Lyn 2010/01/03, 07:38 PM

The Girl Who Stopped Swimming
by joshilyn jackson
From The Jacket: Laurel Gray Hawthorne needs to make things pretty, whether shes helping her mother make sure the literal family skeleton stays in the closet or turning scraps of fabric into nationally acclaimed art quilts. Her estranged sister T More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a bit slow getting started but once it did I was hooked. Wonderful writing with some surprises.
by-jill 2009/12/19, 05:23 PM

An excellent read! Fast paced page turner will keep you guessing until the end. Lots of good stuff in this book, family drama, love and suspense all tied up into a great mystery. I really enjoyed this book.
by-Andrea 2009/07/09, 04:34 PM

The Tenderness of Wolves
by Stef Penney
From The Jacket: A brilliant and breathtaking debut that captivated readers and garnered critical acclaim in the United Kingdom, The Tenderness of Wolves was long listed for the Orange Prize in fiction and won the Costa Award formerly the Whitbre More

Buy From Amazon.com

I did not think I would like this as I don’t usually like murder mysteries but my book club chose it. I was favorably surprised. I would probably give it 4 stars except it was sometimes confusing to keep track of everyone. Great descriptions of a cold Canadian winter in 1867 and characters I could relate to. A page turner.
by-Beth 2009/12/13, 03:43 PM

The main plot is excellent with lots of intrigue. Not a good beach read however as the book has a little too much going on at times and too many characters. Overall a great mystery that keeps you turning pages. I couldn't put it down at times.
by-PBR 2009/04/12, 09:40 AM

Mortal Friends
by Jane Stanton Hitchcock
From The Jacket: When the latest victim of the "Beltway Basher" is found in the woods of Montrose Park, Reven Lynch's favorite jogging spot, her crime loving antenna goes up. The murder makes Reven and her best friend, Violet Bolton, reconsider t More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a funny clever book that I received as a gift. I really liked it a lot.
by-Lonn 2009/11/15, 05:31 PM

I found this book to be a delightful, entertaining read. Although I discovered this book in the mystery section, the book is really more about the gossipy Washington DC social world. If you are looking for a good suspenseful mystery, skip this one. However if you're in the mood for a easy, witty light read, this would be a good choice.
by-Lyn 2009/08/17, 06:54 PM

Sworn To Silence
by Linda Castillo
From The Jacket: Some secrets are too terrible to reveal. Some crimes are too unspeakable to solve. In the sleepy rural town of Painters Mill, Ohio, the Amish and “English” residents have lived side by side for two centuries. But sixteen years ag More

Buy From Amazon.com

I was drawn in immediately and especially loved reading about the Amish. I found too that the characters were very real with strengths and flaws. I recommend.
by-Susan L 2009/11/15, 09:35 AM

I loved the Amish setting of this book and would like to see more in depth coverage of Amish culture in future installments. Kate Burkholder, the main character was likeable and believable. The book moved at a nice pace, escalating to breakneck speed at the end. A good read.
by-Lyn 2009/08/01, 06:35 PM

The September Society
by Charles Finch
From The Jacket: The sitting room looked as familiar as the back of his hand, and immediately Lenox took a liking to the young man who inhabited it. He saw several small artifacts of the missing student’s life, a frayed piece of string about two More

Buy From Amazon.com

Very nice series, read his first book too,also very good
by-James 2009/11/13, 12:58 PM

I fell in love with Charles and Lady Jane. This book beautifully conveys all the "proper" English traditions; made me wish I could just pop back in time for a bit.
by-Lonnie 2009/11/01, 04:09 PM

I loved this quiet but nicely paced who done it mystery. It is perfect for that quite Sunday afternoon read. Looking forward to more from Charles Finch.
by-Lyn 2009/10/18, 12:55 PM

The Beekeepers Apprentice
by Laurie R king
From The Jacket: What would happen if Sherlock Homles, a perfect man of the Victorian age, pompous, smug, and misogynisitic,were to come face to face with a twentieth century female? If she grew to be a partner worthy of his great talents? Laurie More

Buy From Amazon.com

Great entertaining read. I loved Mrs. Hudson, Mary Russell and of course Sherlock Holmes. They are all affable and endearing characters you are sure to fall in love with. There is the typical suspense and intrigue you expect in a mystery, but it's the characters that make this book so wonderful.
by-Lyn 2009/11/08, 06:56 PM

The Thirteenth Tale
by Diane Setterfield
From The Jacket: When Margaret Lea opened the door to the past, what she confronted was her destiny. All children mythologize their birth. So begins the prologue of reclusive author Vida Winter's collection of stories, which are as famous for the More

Buy From Amazon.com

Drawn in by the cover and the story was every bit as gorgeous, rich and intriguing.
by-Tami 2009/10/19, 10:05 AM

A wonderful book from start to finish. Setterfield is a terrific story teller. The book is filled with interesting characters and lots of twists and turns in the plot. Excellent!
by-Andrea 2009/09/27, 03:55 PM

Arctic Chill
by Arnaldur Indridason
From The Jacket: On an icy January day the Reykjavik police are called to a block of flats where a body has been found in the garden: a young, dark skinned boy, frozen to the ground in a pool of his own blood. The discovery of a stab wound in his More

Buy From Amazon.com

(3.5 stars) Great who done it mystery with characters you really get to know and like. The translation from Icelandic missed the mark a little and needs some smoothing out. I will definitely look for this authors next book.
by-Lyn 2009/10/18, 12:32 PM

Oxygen
by Carol Cassella
From The Jacket: With the compassion of Jodi Picoult and the medical realism of Atul Gawande, Oxygen is a riveting new novel by a real life anesthesiologist, an intimate story of relationships and family that collides with a high stakes medical d More

Buy From Amazon.com

The main thread of this novel was nicely written and held my interest. I had a hard time with the portion of the book that dealt with the family drama, it did not seem to fit with the rest of the storyline in either writing style or intensity; but rather like it was written to add pages to the book.
by-Lyn 2009/09/27, 04:50 AM

The Shadow of the Wind
by Carlos Ruiz Fafon
From The Jacket: Before Daniel knows it, his seemingly innocent quest has opened a door into one of Barcelona's darkest secrets, an epic story of murder, magic, madness, and doomed love, and before long he realizes that if he doesn't find out the More

Buy From Amazon.com

Best book I read in 2006. Loved the gothic feel of the novel.
by-Chris 2009/09/02, 05:36 PM

Our book club read this book a few months back. There are ten of us. Only three people two besides the one who selected it liked this book, the rest either did not finish it or thought it was not worth reading.
by-Mandy 2009/03/15, 06:29 PM

This book never grabbed me. The only reason I gave it three stars was because it was beautifully written with great descriptive narative.
by-Sarah 2009/03/15, 06:21 PM

Forty Words For Sorrow
by Giles Blunt
From The Jacket: The discovery of the body of a supposed thirteen year old runaway and the disappearance of another youngster in the rural town of Algonquin Bay force local cops John Cardinal and his new partner, Lisa Delorme, into a desperate se More

Buy From Amazon.com

Extremely well developed characters and a wickedly evil villain. I watch LAW and Order so it was a little predictable;as many know Giles Blunt was a staff writer for Law and Order
by-Sandy 2009/07/05, 03:16 PM

This is the debut novel of Giles Blunt and it definitely will not be the last one I read. It was fast paced and full of suspense, with strong characters and plot. Beware, A little gruesome at times (nature of the beast I guess it's a thriller!!)
by-Lyn 2009/06/30, 02:58 PM

The Dirty Secret's Club
by Meg Gardiner
From The Jacket: Recently Stephen King devoted an entire Entertainment Weekly column to Meg Gardiner, proclaiming her “as good as Michael Connelly and far better than Janet Evanovich.” How is it possible, he wondered, that this Californian was pu More

Buy From Amazon.com

This book caught my eye because of Steven King’s comment that Meg Gardiner was “The next suspense superstar.” The storyline was original, there was a lot of action and it was nicely paced; I just thought some of the events were a little hard to swallow. There were also several coincidences that were just hard to believe even for fiction. I did enjoy the book just not to the extent I was led to expect base on the praise it received. It is the first book I have read by Meg Gardiner and I would certainly read more. 3.5 stars
by-Lyn 2009/07/05, 02:26 PM

Shutter Island
by Dennis Lehane
From The Jacket: The year is 1954. U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels and his new partner, Chuck Aule, have come to Shutter Island, home of Ashecliffe Hospital for the Criminally Insane, to investigate the disappearance of a patient. Multiple murderess R More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

Likeness
by Tana French
From The Jacket: Six months after the events of In the Woods, Detective Cassie Maddox is still recovering. Transferred out of Dublin’s Murder squad at her own request, she vows never to return. That is, until her boyfriend, Detective Sam O’Neill, More

Buy From Amazon.com

I thought this book was better than "In The Woods"
by-Beth 2009/06/21, 07:34 AM

I read Tana French's debut novel "In The Woods" and loved it despite not getting the closure I wanted; I couldn't wait for her next novel. Maybe I was expecting too much but I thought "Likeness" lacked the edge that her debut novel had. It is still an excellent read with great police work and Tana French's exquisite writing style; The characters are strong and believable. I just felt that it lacked the suspense a mystery should have and was slow at times. I give it a 3.5
by-Lyn 2009/05/14, 08:23 PM

The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie
by Alan Bradley
From The Jacket: Winner of the 2007 Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger.A delightfully dark English mystery, featuring precocious young sleuth Flavia de Luce and her eccentric family.The summer of 1950 hasn’t offered up anything out of the or More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a delight of a book. Light, fast entertaining read.
by-Sandy 2009/06/21, 07:33 AM

Alan Bradley's debut novel is a quirky, delightful read. The main character is precocious, 11 years old and totally irresistible; her voice carries the whole novel brilliantly. If you like a British touch to your reading, I recommend this fast totally engaging read. Winner of the 2007 Crime Writers’ Association Debut Dagger.
by-PBR 2009/06/07, 01:10 PM

The Devlin Diary
by Christi Phillips
From The Jacket: London, The past twelve years have brought momentous changes the restoration Phillips of the monarchy, a devastating plague and fire. Yet the city remains a teeming, thriving metropolis, energized by the lusty decadence of Charle More

Buy From Amazon.com

I loved this book from start to finish.
by-Eileen 2009/06/21, 07:24 AM

This is a first class read, especially for historical fiction lovers. There are two subplots, one transports you to the 17th century and the other modern day; both excellent. I did not want to put this book down to cook dinner a few nights in a row.
by-Beth 2009/06/19, 09:33 AM

Devil in the White City
by Erik Larson
From The Jacket: Two men, each handsome and unusually adept at his chosen work, embodied an element of the great dynamic that characterized Americas rush toward the twentieth century. The architect was Daniel Hudson Burnham, the fairs brilliant d More

Buy From Amazon.com

I loved the beginning of this book, then it lost me. There was way too much detail on Architecture and not enough plot.
by-Eileen 2009/06/17, 12:58 PM

The Coroner's Lunch
by Colin Cotterill
From The Jacket: Laos, 1975. The Communist Pathet Lao has taken over this former French colony. Dr. Siri Paiboun, a 72 yearold Paris trained doctor, is appointed national coroner. Although he has no training for the job, there is no one else the More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a nice quick read mystery. Great plot and character development. The bonus is its the first in a series! I really enjoyed reading this.
by-Andrea 2009/06/18, 07:34 PM

The Deceived
by Brett Battles
From The Jacket: Brett Battles won rave reviews for his debut novel,The Cleaner,which introduced hero Jonathan Quinn. A freelance operative and professional cleaner, Quinn knows better than to get emotionally involved in any of his jobs. But in t More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is very tightly written thriller. It keeps you on the edge of your seat until the very end. It's an incredibly fast paced page turner. Don't miss this debut novel.
by-PBR 2009/06/10, 06:46 PM

Winter Study
by Nevda Barr
From The Jacket: Visiting an isolated Lake Superior isle to study wolf behavior in preparation for her own park's receipt of a pack, ranger Anna Pigeon joins an esteemed scientific group that subsequently discovers unusual DNA evidence suggesting More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was the first book I’ve read by Nevada Barr. The book is certainly well written, but I felt that there was too much descriptive narrative and not enough suspense; the twists and turns I so look forward to in a mystery were few and far between. Maybe her next book will be better.
by-PBR 2009/06/07, 01:52 PM

Angels and Demons
by Dan Brown
From The Jacket: An ancient secret brotherhood. A devastating new weapon of destruction. An unthinkable target. When world renowned Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon is summoned to his first assignment to a Swiss research facility to analyze a m More

Buy From Amazon.com

I read The DaVinci Code first and loved it, couldn't wait until Dan Brown's next book came out. I didn't think this author could improve on the first book until I read Angels and Demons; I thought it was better. A tight, page turner that keeps you totally engrossed.
by-Lyn 2009/05/18, 05:33 PM

Angels and Demons is a thrilling read that keeps you on your toes. It is better written than The DaVinci Code, but not as engaging. It is a better thriller, but not a better story. If you enjoyed the DaVinci code you will like this book. Most people I know like this book better, but it doesn't stay with you as long as the other Langdon novel. This is a good fast read that is perfect for the beach.
by-Abby 2009/05/18, 01:26 PM

In The Woods
by Tana French
From The Jacket: A gorgeously written novel that marks the debut of an astonishing new voice in psychological suspense As dusk approaches a small Dublin suburb in the summer of 1984, mothers begin to call their children home. But on this warm eve More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a really great mystery from the beginning. I loved the characters, setting, everything. The problem I had was with the ending. What was the author thinking?
by-Andrea 2009/05/15, 06:33 PM

Right from the start I was drawn in by the beautiful writing style of Tana French's narrative, her complex characters and well developed plot. She also had great detailed detective work, which I love in a mystery and enough twists in the story to keep you reading. Overall a great mystery.
by-PBR 2009/05/03, 03:12 PM

The Kills
by Linda Fairstein
From The Jacket: Manhattan Assistant D.A. Alexandra Cooper is working feverishly on a tough trial, seeking justice for investment banker Paige Vallis. But in a heated "he said, she said" case, Alex learns that Paige herself has something to hide. More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a great audio book. Easy listening and intriguing story. If you like Patrica Cornwell you will enjoy Linda Fairstein. Part of the Alexander Cooper Series The Kills is suspenseful and unpredictable. From start to finish it kept my interest with different threads and great characters. I look forward to more of the series.
by-Andrea 2009/05/05, 08:56 AM

Just Take My Heart
by Mary Higgins Clark
From The Jacket: In her new thriller Americas no 1 bestselling Queen of Suspense delves into a legal battle over the guilt or innocence of a man accused of murdering his wife. Woven into her plot is an eerie little understood but documented medic More

Buy From Amazon.com

A light read and another great book for Mary Higgins Clark fans. A tale with courtroom drama and some surprises. A little different than her usual style but good all the same.
by-Sara 2009/05/03, 04:29 PM

Sweetheart
by Chelsea Cain
From The Jacket: When the body of a young woman is discovered in Portlands Forest Park, Archie is reminded of the last time they found a body there, more than a decade ago it turned out to be the Beauty Killers first victim, and Archies first cas More

Buy From Amazon.com

A page turner right from the start. You will be thrilled, shocked and kept on the edge of your seat with this one.
by-Melissa 2009/04/30, 10:33 AM

The Double Bind
by Chris Bohjalian
From The Jacket: When Laurel Estabrook is attacked while riding her bicyce through Vermont's back roads, her life is forever changed. Formerly outgoing, Laurel withdraws into her photography, spending all her free time at a homeless shelter. Th More

Buy From Amazon.com

Although this was a nice read, I was a little disappointed. I loved "Midwives" by the same author and was expecting the same great depth of character and plot development. They both seemed one dimensional and flat.
by-PBR 2009/04/29, 10:39 AM

Blood Memory
by Margaret Coel
From The Jacket: Catherine McLeod is an investigative reporter for the Journal, one of Denver's major newspapers. Her recent coverage of the Arapaho and Cheyenne tribes filing a claim for twenty seven million acres of their ancestral lands has ma More

Buy From Amazon.com

A light straight forward fast read with a different story line. It has enough action to keep you turning the pages.
by-PBR 2009/04/23, 10:49 AM

Savage Garden
by Mark Mills
From The Jacket: A beautiful Tuscan villa, a mysterious garden, two hidden murders ' one from the 16th century, one from the twentieth ' and a family riven by dark secrets combine in this evocative, intriguing mystery set in postWar Italy. In 195 More

Buy From Amazon.com

Very good mystery. I found the references to Greek mythology to be very interesting. A little predictable, but I'm glad I read it.
by-PBR 2009/03/17, 05:07 AM

The Indian Bride
by Karin Fossum
From The Jacket: When perpetual bachelor Gunder Jomann goes to India for two weeks and comes home married, the Norwegian town of Elvestad is stunned. On the day the Indian bride is supposed to arrive, the battered body of a woman is found in a me More

Buy From Amazon.com

I agree. Sad, warm wonderful mystery. Different.
by-Sara 2009/04/12, 09:15 AM

This is not your typical crime novel. It's a beautifully written mystery set in a Norwegian village. I fell in love with the characters, especially Gunder who I found myself rooting for. It will keep you guessing until the end. It really draws you in.
by-PBR 2009/03/17, 04:59 AM

Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (2 of 2) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending