FIRST PREV (21 of 21) NEXT LAST
fiction
Night Train to Lisbon
by Pascal Mercier
From The Jacket: A huge international best seller, this ambitious novel plumbs the depths of our shared humanity to offer up a breathtaking insight into life, love, and literature itself. A major hit in Germany that went on to become one of Europ More

Buy From Amazon.com

I just could not get into this book. It was an efffort for me to finish it.
by-Lyn 2009/04/15, 07:39 AM

fiction
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
by David Wroblewski
From The Jacket: A riveting family saga, The Story of Edgar Sawtelle explores the deep and ancient alliance between humans and dogs, and the power of fate through one boy's epic journey into the wild. Born mute, speaking only in sign, Edgar Sawte More

Buy From Amazon.com

The reason I picked this book to read was because such a fuss was made about it on Oprah, I love my dogs and it got rave reviews. For me the story dragged and was a bit tedious.
by-Sandy 2009/04/15, 10:45 AM

fiction
The White Tiger
by Aravind Adiga
From The Jacket: Balram Halwai is a complicated man. Servant. Philosopher. Entrepreneur. Murderer. Over the course of seven nights, by the scattered light of a preposterous chandelier, Balram tells the terrible and transfixing story of how he cam More

Buy From Amazon.com

Excellent story, I loved the voice of the main Character(quite humorous at times) and how he developed. I found the caste system of India to be fascinating.
by-Laura 2009/04/13, 05:57 AM

Love this book! It was the winner of the Man Booker Prize.
by-Andrea 2009/04/06, 06:14 PM

I read this book which is set in the slums of India and then went to see the movie Slumdog Millionaire. It brought the book to life. This is an excellent read and I love the ending. I have to admit it got a bit slow in the middle, but I highly recommend it.
by-PBR 2009/03/17, 05:03 AM

fiction
Beautiful Lies
by Lisa Unger
From The Jacket: Ridley Jones has been living a lie. A mysterious package showed up on her doorstep one morning and the beautiful lie she used to call her life was over. Suddenly, everyone she knows feels like a stranger. She has no idea who's on More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was the first time I read anything by this author and I will definitely look for her next book. Throughly enjoyed this mystery.
by-Lyn 2009/04/12, 04:20 PM

fiction
Those Who Save Us
by Jenna Blum
From The Jacket: For fifty years Anna Schlemmer has refused to talk about her life in Germany during World War II. Her daughter Trudy was only three when she and her mother were liberated by an American soldier and went to live with him in Minne More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This book definitely goes on my list of all time favorites. A must read.
by-Sara 2009/04/12, 09:52 AM

fiction
Middlesex
by Jeffery Eudenides
From The Jacket: I was born twice, first, as a baby girl, on a remarkably smogless Detroit day of January and then again, as a teenage boy, in an emergency room near Petoskey, Michigan, in August . My birth certificate lists my name as Calliope More

Buy From Amazon.com

Excellent read! There is more to this book than the title suggests. Its not just the life story of a Hermaphrodite. It's the story of a Greek family and their struggles.
by-PBR 2009/03/16, 06:49 PM

mystery
Savage Garden
by Mark Mills
From The Jacket: A beautiful Tuscan villa, a mysterious garden, two hidden murders ' one from the 16th century, one from the twentieth ' and a family riven by dark secrets combine in this evocative, intriguing mystery set in postWar Italy. In 195 More

Buy From Amazon.com

Very good mystery. I found the references to Greek mythology to be very interesting. A little predictable, but I'm glad I read it.
by-PBR 2009/03/17, 05:07 AM

mystery
The Indian Bride
by Karin Fossum
From The Jacket: When perpetual bachelor Gunder Jomann goes to India for two weeks and comes home married, the Norwegian town of Elvestad is stunned. On the day the Indian bride is supposed to arrive, the battered body of a woman is found in a me More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

I agree. Sad, warm wonderful mystery. Different.
by-Sara 2009/04/12, 09:15 AM

This is not your typical crime novel. It's a beautifully written mystery set in a Norwegian village. I fell in love with the characters, especially Gunder who I found myself rooting for. It will keep you guessing until the end. It really draws you in.
by-PBR 2009/03/17, 04:59 AM

fiction
Same Kind of Different as Me
by Ron Hall and Denver Moore
From The Jacket: Meet Denver, a man raised under plantation style slavery in Louisiana in the 1960s; a man who escaped, hopping a train to wander, homeless, for eighteen years on the streets of Dallas, Texas. No longer a slave, Denver's life was More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a book about real people; the story is true, which at times is easy to forget as it reads like fiction. It's told from the viewpoint of the different characters, with some events being told from each of their perspectives. This format gives insight into the role individual upbringing plays in our live that causes us to react differently to the same scenario. The book made me both laugh and cry. I gave it four stars because at times the religious aspect of it was a bit much. But, don't let this stop you from reading the book, it's inspiring, uplifting and amazing especially when you realize it's trus.
by-PBR 2009/03/16, 08:16 AM

fiction
Mister Pip
by Lloyd Jones
From The Jacket: On a copper rich tropical island shattered by war, where the teachers have fled with almost everyone else, only one white man chooses to stay behind, the eccentric Mr. Watts, object of much curiosity and scorn, who sweeps out the More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a beautifully written story narrated by a young girl whose voice you will hear long after you have put the book down. I loved this book and all the characters in it. It was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2007, which is given to the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. Check out our award pages for more suggestions.
by-PBR 2009/03/23, 04:31 PM

fiction
The Betrayal
by Beverly Lewis
From The Jacket: Book 2 of Abrams Daughters. Spanning three generations, the Abrams Daughters series paints a powerful family portrait of four Amish sisters growing up in Gobblers Knob, Lancaster County. In Book One, The Covenant, when oldest sis More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was a nice easy read and I enjoyed reading about the Amish Culture. I think this would be a great teen read, as it is categorized as Religious Fiction. It handles some coming of age topics very delicately while learning about the Amish faith. It was very interesting .
by-PBR 2009/03/19, 07:37 AM

fiction
Songs Without Words
by Ann Packer
From The Jacket: Ann Packers debut novel, The Dive from Clausens Pier, was a nationwide best seller that established her as one of our most gifted chroniclers of the interior lives of women. Now, in her long awaited second novel, she takes us on More

Buy From Amazon.comBuy from Barnes and Noble icon

No Comments

fiction
Very Valentine
by Adriana Trigiani
From The Jacket: When a failing custom wedding shoe business in Greenwich Village falls unexpectedly into her lap, apprentice Valentine Roncalli is challenged to bring her family's old world craftsmanship into the twenty first century, an endeavo More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a perfect airport book. It's entertaining and very funny. It centers on a big Italian family and all their idiosyncrasies. It could be any big dysfunctional family sot it's easy to relate to. Who doesn't have a crazy relative? It was enjoyable and I did laugh out loud a few times. In the middle it looses steam a bit but I'm glad I read it.
by-PBR 2009/03/23, 04:11 PM

fiction
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
by Anne Tyler
From The Jacket: Pearl Tull is nearing the end of her life but not of her memory. It was a Sunday night when her husband left the little row house on Baltimores Calvert Street, abandoning Pearl to raise their three children alone Jenny, high spir More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

fiction
The Secret Life of Bees
by Sue Kidd Monk
From The Jacket: Sue Monk Kidd's ravishing debut novel has stolen the hearts of reviewers and readers alike with its strong, assured voice. Set in South Carolina in 1964, The Secret Life of Bees tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is one of my favorite books. The voice of the main character was touching and believable. I ran right out and bought one of Sue Kidd Monk's other novels
by-BB 2009/04/07, 10:26 AM

fiction
Midwives
by Chris Bohjalian
From The Jacket: In the pastoral community of Reddington, Vermont, during the harsh winter of 1981, Sibyl Danforth makes a lifeordeath decision based on fifteen years of experience as a respected midwife a decision intended to save a child, a de More

Buy From Amazon.com

A very believable well researched story. Chris Bohialain’s writing style was outstanding throughout this well plotted story; the book was hard to put down at times. The topic of midwifery and all its legal and moral implications makes for great discussion, varied opinions and also a great read. Get your emotional armor out for this one.
by-Lyn 2009/04/05, 07:22 AM

fiction
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
by Jonathan Foer
From The Jacket: Nine year old Oskar Schnell has embarked on an urgent, secret mission that will take him through the five boroughs of New York. His goal is to find the lock that matches a mysterious key that belonged to his father, who died in More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is written in a unique, very creative and quirky manner. Although the main character is precious and the storytelling great, I would recommend this to readers with an open adventurous mindset as the writing style is quite unconventional.
by-PBR 2009/04/02, 06:03 PM

fiction
Fractured
by Karen Slaughter
From The Jacket: Now the number one internationally best selling author returns to the damaged landscape she knows so well in a bold new novel at once a powder keg of suspense, gritty portrait of a cops life, and searing exploratin of a shocking More

Buy From Amazon.com

Well written, fast paced, great police procedural, you can’t ask for much more in a mystery. It’s a sequel to Slaughter’s Triptych, which I did not read; I still enjoyed the book and did not feel lost. It’s well plotted with a consistent level of suspense, and filled with lots of twists to keep you hooked. I look forward to her next book
by-Lyn 2009/03/31, 07:53 AM

fiction
Run
by Ann Patchett
From The Jacket: Since their mother's death, Tip and Teddy Doyle have been raised by their loving, possessive and ambitious father. As the former Mayor of Boston, Bernard Doyle wants to see his sons in politics, a dream the boys have never shared More

Buy From Amazon.com

Very different form “Bel Canto” but a nice read. Patchette develops very engaging, real characters right from the start, you quickly become attached. It is not a fast paced novel but Patchette does keep you intrigued, you want to keep reading. You like and want her main character in particular to find contentment in life. The book’s topic of biological versus adopted children and the life choices of the mother and child are thought provoking and emotionally charged. Great Discussion book.
by-Lyn 2009/03/31, 07:43 AM

fiction
One Thousand White Women
by Jim Fergus
From The Jacket: One Thousand White Women begins with May Dodd's journey west, into the unknown. Yet the unknown is a far better fate than the life she left behind: committed to an insane asylum by her blueblood family for the crime of loving a m More Read PBR Review

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a captivating story you will not want to put down. It's beautifully written with excellent characters. I enjoyed reading about the Indian culture as well as the love story. It has a little bit of eveything to keep you reading.
by-Andrea 2009/03/24, 06:00 AM

Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (21 of 21) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending