FIRST PREV (1 of 6) NEXT LAST
Fiction
Rules of Civility
by Amor Towles
From The Jacket: A sophisticated and entertaining debut novel about an irresistible young woman with an uncommon sense of purpose. Set in New York City in 1938, Rules of Civility tells the story of a watershed year in the life of an uncompromisin More

Buy From Amazon.com

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

I, for one, like a book that is paced a bit faster. This book is too slow moving for me, and I have yet to come across its purpose, and I am half of the way through it. I like a strong plot, and I'm still trying to figure out what this book's plot is. All I'm doing is following the lives of a few characters as they live day by day! Really???? I need something meatier to read. I will finish the book because it is my book club's selection this month, but I am reading other books while reading this one. Obviously, I need the interruptions to keep my sanity. Sorry for such a negative review. Many, many people liked it.
by-Maureen 2018/04/13, 12:16 AM

Rosie Colored Glasses
by Brianna Wolfson
From The Jacket: SEEING THE WORLD THROUGH ROSIE COLORED GLASSES Just as opposites attract, they can also cause friction, and no one feels that friction more than Rex and Rosie’s daughter, Willow. Rex is serious and unsentimental and tapes che More

Buy From Amazon.com

A moving story about a carefree spirited woman, a serious disciplined man and complicated relationship that develops between them. Rosie and Rex never should have married, but they did. They never should have had children. But, they did. What follows is not only a story of the push and pull of divorced parents sharing responsibilities, but a lesson in different parenting styles and a story that examines many issues. Excellent, recommend.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:55 PM

Anatomy of a Scandal
by Sarah Vaughan
From The Jacket: You want to believe your husband. She wants to destroy him. “The courtroom yields high drama, but Vaughan also dives deep into the characters’ backstories—especially the entitled lives of powerful men—creating a nuanced story More

Buy From Amazon.com

A book that is relevant given the current headlines about sex and men in power that dominate the news lately. It’s suspenseful and examines issues of class, money and the balance of power between the sexes. A happily married, British politician is accused of raping his young assistant. It sheds light on the issue of sexual consent, and looks at what can be considered grey areas.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:48 PM

The House We Grew Up In
by Lisa Jewell
From The Jacket: Meet the picture-perfect Bird family: pragmatic Meg, dreamy Beth, and towheaded twins Rory and Rhys, one an adventurous troublemaker, the other his slighter, more sensitive counterpart. Their father is a sweet, gangly man, but it More

Buy From Amazon.com

Great story about the different ways of tragedy can affect someone. It's engaging and explores many topics such as mental illness and the intricacies of relationships and hoarding. All the characters are flawed, and the general tone of the book is uplifting
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:23 PM

The Hate U Give
by Angie Thomas
From The Jacket: Sixteen year old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal sho More

Buy From Amazon.com

An emotional and thought provoking story about class and race. And one that is in step with current events; a police officer fatally shoots a young black man and then does not tell the truth. This is the story of the young 16 year old girl, who was witness to the shooting.
by-Linda 2018/03/21, 05:22 PM

Little Broken Things
by Nicole Baart
From The Jacket: “If you liked Big Little Lies, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.” —Southern Living An engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose More

Buy From Amazon.com

An intriguing book with many secrets to discover and some clever plotting; this is a book that is suspenseful, tugs at your emotions, and is filled with family drama. Perfect for those that enjoy light engaging read.
by-Linda 2018/02/27, 10:58 PM

Still Me
by Jojo Moyes
From The Jacket: From the sensational #1 New York Times bestselling author Jojo Moyes, a new book featuring her iconic heroine of Me Before You and After You, Louisa Clark Louisa Clark arrives in New York ready to start a new life, confident t More

Buy From Amazon.com

A fantastic sequel with a great cast of characters and a heartwarming plot. You’ll love spending more time with Louisa as she tackle NYC.
by-Linda 2018/02/19, 09:28 PM

Rich People Problems
by Kevin Kwan
From The Jacket: Kevin Kwan, bestselling author of Crazy Rich Asians (soon to be a MAJOR MOTION PICTURE starring Constance Wu, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Gemma Chan) and China Rich Girlfriend, is back with an uproarious new novel of a famil More

Buy From Amazon.com

The final book of Kwan's Crazy Rich Asians trilogy - charming, funny and satirical with the same over the top characters and situations as the previous books in this trilogy.
by-Linda 2017/12/27, 10:48 PM

The Winter Solstice
by Elin Hilderbrand
From The Jacket: *The USA Today Bestseller* Raise one last glass with the Quinn Family at the Winter Street Inn. It’s been too long since the entire Quinn family has been able to celebrate the holidays under the same roof, but that’s about to More

Buy From Amazon.com

A perfect ending to a wonderful series. Elin Hilderbrand once again works her magic, creating beautiful atmosphere and a wonderful family. A little sad so have some Kleenex ready.
by-Linda 2017/12/17, 12:01 AM

All The Ugly and Wonderful Things
by Bryn Greenwood
From The Jacket: - A New York Times and USA Today bestseller - Book of the Month Club 2016 Book of the Year - Second Place Goodreads Best Fiction of 2016 A beautiful and provocative love story between two unlikely people and the hard- More

Buy From Amazon.com

This author holds nothing back as she explores the lives of two very dysfunctional people. The topics are going to make you squirm and will throw your moral compass off balance. Recommend
by-Linda 2017/12/05, 12:21 PM

The Lightkeepers Daughters
by Jean E. Pendziwol
From The Jacket: The Instant International Bestseller “Jean Pendziwol’s beautifully written novel captured me from the very first page. Its descriptions of the windswept lightkeeper’s station of Elizabeth’s and Emily’s youth are so crisply re More

Buy From Amazon.com

An endearing story of love and longing that is intriguing and insightful. It’s about a bond that develops between a rebellious teen and an elderly woman in a nursing home. The incredible descriptions and character development create atmosphere and tension. Recommend for those that enjoy a tempered literary read.
by-Linda 2017/11/15, 09:34 PM

The Hearts Invisible Furies
by John Boyne
From The Jacket: From the beloved New York Times bestselling author of The Boy In the Striped Pajamas, a sweeping, heartfelt saga about the course of one man’s life, beginning and ending in post-war Ireland Cyril Avery is not a real Avery — or More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a bittersweet, epic book about Catherine, a teenager giving birth out of wedlock in 1949 Ireland. It tells her story and that of her son, Cyril, who struggles being gay in a time when it was lethal to be so. Catherine was forced to give Cyril up for adoption and as such the book also details his unusual relationship with his adopted parents. This is an amazing epic read for anyone who enjoys a literary read.
by-Linda 2017/10/15, 06:12 PM

The Heirs
by Susan Rieger
From The Jacket: Six months after Rupert Falkes dies, leaving a grieving widow and five adult sons, an unknown woman sues his estate, claiming she had two sons by him. The Falkes brothers are pitched into turmoil, at once missing their father and More

Buy From Amazon.com

If you think rich people are not dysfunction, you need to read this book; it explores just that. The characters are vivid, the story is engaging, and the author puts you right inside the heads of wealthy New Yorkers.
by-Linda 2017/09/24, 07:43 PM

The Arrangement
by Sarah Dunn
From The Jacket: Named one of the 9 Most Addictive Books of 2017 (So Far) by Kirkus, a Happily Ever After read by USA Today, one of Entertainment Weekly’s Best New Books, one of Refinery29’s Best Books of the year so far. A hilarious and emoti More

Buy From Amazon.com

I loved the concept of this book. Can agreeing to have an open marriage for six months put the spark back in a relationship? This story realistically explores this. It’s original, funny and nicely written – once you start, you won’t want to put the book down. You can’t help but wonder if what seems like a disaster in the making is going to work. Recommend.
by-Linda 2017/09/13, 05:16 PM

The Captains Daughter
by Meg Mitchell Moore
From The Jacket: For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been Growing up in More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a story about coming to terms with your roots and realizing they are a part of you forever. Eliza must return to her hometown to care for her sick father. While there, she is forced to face her feelings about the life she left behind when she married and moved away. The book explores the complications of facing childhood demons, juggling family obligations and letting go. Elin Hilderbrand’s fans will love this emotional read. Recommend.
by-Linda 2017/09/13, 04:23 PM

Little Fires Everywhere
by Celeste Ng
From The Jacket: In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is planned – from the layout of the winding roads, to the colors of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodie More

Buy From Amazon.com

A compelling read touching on issues of class, adoption and passing judgment. It also contains strong themes of friendship and the cost of holding onto secrets. The story contrasts different lifestyles and delves into motherhood and mother daughter relationships.
by-Linda 2017/09/13, 04:51 PM

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
by Taylor Jenkins Reid
From The Jacket: In this entrancing novel “that speaks to the Marilyn Monroe and Elizabeth Taylor in us all” (Kirkus Reviews), a legendary film actress reflects on her relentless rise to the top and the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the More

Buy From Amazon.com

With his compulsively unputdownable breakout novel about Islamic terror, Robert Donator (https://robertdonator.wordpress.com/) has penned a deeply moving and masterfully written story of human resilience and enduring love. It gently takes the unaware reader into the quicksand of her involvement in the struggles of the protagonist until it is too late. The reader soon finds herself waist deep in the quagmire of events that compels her to sink deeper as the succession of events gather a mind boggling pace of events that ends only when the book ends. https://www.amazon.in/dp/B072W11CR2
by-Babujee Datta 2017/09/03, 10:14 AM

Evelyn Hugo has beauty, charm and radiates with confidence. So it’s no wonder she goes from the daughter of Cuban immigrants to Hollywood star in no time at all. This captivating story follows her journey as she falls down and gets back up many times over. I loved meeting all her husbands. She didn't always marry for love. Perfect woman's fiction. Highy recommend
by-Linda 2017/08/24, 08:10 AM

Home Fire
by Kamila Shamsie
From The Jacket: LONGLISTED FOR THE 2017 MAN BOOKER PRIZE The suspenseful and heartbreaking story of an immigrant family driven to pit love against loyalty, with devastating consequences Isma is free. After years of watching out for her you More

Buy From Amazon.com

This story is intense. It doesn’t feel like fiction, but like real events unfolding and has a powerful message on point with current events of today. It examines the subjects of terrorism, racism, torture, Jihadism and the Muslim culture at large, showing what it means to be Muslim in today’s world.
by-Linda 2017/08/24, 07:40 AM

A Gentleman in Moscow
by Amore Towles
From The Jacket: He can’t leave his hotel. You won’t want to. From the New York Times bestselling author of Rules of Civility a transporting novel about a man who is ordered to spend the rest of his life inside a luxury hotel. Count Alexander Ro More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

A Bridge Across the Ocean
by Susan Meissner
From The Jacket: Wartime intrigue spans the lives of three women—past and present—in the latest novel from the acclaimed author of Secrets of a Charmed Life. February, 1946. World War Two is over, but the recovery from the most intimate of it More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a story that highlights the courage of the war brides, women who married American soldiers during World War II. They endured a lot; traumas during the war and also obstacles after the war while they waited for permission to enter America and be with their husbands. Recommend.
by-Linda 2017/07/23, 08:27 PM

The Reminders
by Val Emmich
From The Jacket: Perfect for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan's The Engagement or Graeme Simpson's The Rosie Project, The Reminders follows what happens when a girl who can't forget befriends a man who's desperate to remember. Grief-stricken over More

Buy From Amazon.com

Another book with a quirky, memorable character. In this book, ten year old Joan has a condition that enables her to remember everything perfectly, with exacting detail. She’s great and you'll certainly get attached, but the strength of this book lies in the special relationships this author creates. Fans of “A Man Called Ove” will love this, but another book that came to mind when reading this was “The Sweetness At The Bottom Of The Pie. Recommend this endearing story.
by-Linda 2017/07/23, 08:26 PM

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine
by Gail Honeyman
From The Jacket: Soon to be a major motion picture produced by Reese Witherspoon. “A charmer…satisfyingly quirky.”—Janet Maslin, The New York Times “Books to Breeze Through This Summer” “This wacky, charming novel…draws you in with humor, t More

Buy From Amazon.com

A winner. If you liked A Man call Ove or the Rosie Project it’s a must read. Eleanor’s personality is delightful and her journey is inspiring.
by-Linda 2017/07/11, 03:27 PM

Ginny Moon
by Benjamin Ludwig
From The Jacket: To Ginny, a child with autism, the word Forever means until the police come. Five years ago the police forcibly removed her from the home of her abusive birth mother, Gloria. Now fourteen, and in her fourth Forever Home, Ginny More

Buy From Amazon.com

Living with Autism is hard for everyone involved and can be challenging. But don’t just read this book for insights on this condition – read it for the unusual delightful character of Ginny Moon and her journey to finding an adoptive family that has the understanding and compassion to see her true spirit. Highly recommend.
by-Linda 2017/07/11, 03:26 PM

The Stars Are Fire
by Anita Shreve
From The Jacket: From the New York Times best-selling author of The Weight of Water and The Pilot's Wife (an Oprah's Book Club selection): an exquisitely suspenseful new novel about an extraordinary young woman tested by a catastrophic event and More

Buy From Amazon.com

A gripping fictionalized story based on the 1927 fire in Bar Harbor Maine that devastated the community. It’s also about survival and finding inner strength to rebuild your life.
by-Linda 2017/07/11, 03:22 PM

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley
by Hannah Tinti
From The Jacket: A coming-of-age novel and a literary thrill ride about the price we pay to protect the people we love most. “A father-daughter road trip you won’t soon forget.”—Richard Russo Samuel Hawley isn’t like the other fathers in Ol More

Buy From Amazon.com

A story of love between a father and daughter and how even the most serious imperfections do not diminish this love. This is a story of forgiveness, acceptance and seeing the goodness in people. Samuel unusual parenting style and the vagabond lifestyle is also sure to generate some conversation.
by-Linda 2017/07/11, 03:06 PM

The Horse Dancer
by Jojo Moyes
From The Jacket: When Sarah’s grandfather gives her a beautiful horse named Boo—hoping that one day she’ll follow in his footsteps to join an elite French riding school, away from their gritty London neighborhood—she quietly trains in city’s park More

Buy From Amazon.com

If you love horses, this book will really resonate with you. But, there is enough family drama and the characters are very well developed, so there is really something for everyone. Recommend.
by-Linda 2017/07/11, 02:34 PM

The Light We Lost
by Jill Santopolo
From The Jacket: He was the first person to inspire her, to move her, to truly understand her. Was he meant to be the last? Lucy is faced with a life-altering choice. But before she can make her decision, she must start her story—their story—a More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is my favorite summer audio so far! It's light, but has some substance to it. I couldn't wait to get back to listening.
by-Andrea 2017/06/18, 08:19 AM

The Rosie Project
by Graeme Simsion
From The Jacket: Now in paperback, the international bestselling romantic comedy “bursting with warmth, emotional depth, and…humor,” (Entertainment Weekly) featuring the oddly charming, socially challenged genetics professor, Don, as he seeks tru More

Buy From Amazon.com

Humor is back! Don is an unusual forty year old. Organized, meticulous, literal, and. . .well annoying. Deciding it is time to get marry Don puts together a very scientific questionnaire to find the perfect spouse. Then a young woman enters the picture trying to find her biological father. Tracking DNA and a possible Miss Right puts Don in an unknown and spontaneous situation. Amusing and laugh out loud book.
by-MLPUGH1957 2017/05/25, 12:38 PM

Fun engaging read with quirky heartwarming characters. A charming and unique love story. Hard to put down once you start.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:20 AM

The Nix
by Nathan Hill
From The Jacket: “The Nix is a mother-son psychodrama with ghosts and politics, but it’s also a tragicomedy about anger and sanctimony in America. . . . Nathan Hill is a maestro.” —John Irving From the suburban Midwest to New York City to th More

Buy From Amazon.com

Couldn't put it down!
by-Barre hall 2017/05/23, 06:57 PM

Not necessarily for everyone, it's 600 plus pages and a bit wordy. But a treat for those that enjoy this kind of book. Full of witty humor and flawed characters.
by-linda 2017/03/01, 06:58 AM

First Comes Love
by Emily Giffin
From The Jacket: NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A pair of sisters find themselves at a crossroads in this dazzling new novel from the author of Something Borrowed, Where We Belong, and The One and Only. First Comes Love is a story about family, frien More

Buy From Amazon.com

Strong characters and perfect family dynamics. A great vacation or beach read. A lot of book club talking points for clubs that like something on the light side.
by-Linda 2017/05/22, 09:05 PM

My Not So Perfect Life
by Sophie Kinsella
From The Jacket: Everywhere Katie Brenner looks, someone else is living the life she longs for, particularly her boss, Demeter Farlowe. Demeter is brilliant and creative, lives with her perfect family in a posh townhouse, and wears the coolest cl More

Buy From Amazon.com

A light but engaging story with a few healthy lessons. It is a perfect mix of a little love, some family dynamics and a not so great employee boss relationship.
by-Linda 2017/04/12, 10:23 AM

Everything I Never Told You
by Celeste Ng
From The Jacket: Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet . . . So begins the story of this exquisite debut novel, about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee; their More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a great family drama. It's set in the 70s, so there are race and gender issues. The writing is subtle but engaging. A great book club choice.
by-Linda 2017/03/06, 08:50 PM

A Dog's Purpose
by W. Bruce Cameron
From The Jacket: Based on the beloved bestselling novel by W. Bruce Cameron, A Dog’s Purpose, from director Lasse Hallström (The Cider House Rules, Dear John, The 100-Foot Journey), shares the soulful and surprising story of one devoted dog (voic More

Buy From Amazon.com

This was one of my favorite books! I don't often cry when reading books, but this one had me reaching for the tissues. I can't wait to see the movie.
by-Andrea 2017/03/22, 02:16 AM

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin
From The Jacket: A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. He lives alone, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. But when a More

Buy From Amazon.com

This book was a pleasure. BOOKS! But what happens to a rather reluctant book shop owner when feelings that have been long buried surface with the many radical changes in his life and book shop. It's a book that glorifies those who sell books, deal with people, and bring about love.
by-MLPUGH1957 2017/05/25, 12:32 PM

This is a delightful read all book lovers will enjoy. It's setting is a bookstore and it's an emotional read.
by-Andrea 2017/02/16, 03:58 PM

1984
by George Orwell
From The Jacket: In 1984, London is a grim city where Big Brother is always watching you and the Thought Police can practically read your mind. Winston is a man in grave danger for the simple reason that his memory still functions. Drawn into a f More

Buy From Amazon.com

No Comments

The Education of Dixie Dupree
by Donna Everhart
From The Jacket: In 1969, Dixie Dupree is eleven years old and already an expert liar. Sometimes the lies are for her mama, Evie’s sake-to explain away a bruise brought on by her quick-as-lightning temper. And sometimes the lies are to spite Evie More

Buy From Amazon.com

A tough book to read, so not for everyone. Deals with many levels of child abuse and poverty. Narrated by 11 year old Dixie who has a voice that you can’t stop listening to. Her life is unraveling and yet she remains positive.
by-linda 2016/12/12, 07:54 PM

Whiskey and Charlie
by Annabel Smith
From The Jacket: “A sharp, perceptive novel about family and forgiveness, Whiskey & Charlie will stay with me for a very long time.” Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train A captivating debut novel of b More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is an emotionally charged book. It is about family drama and complicated relationships and the unseen bond between twins. The author hits every note when dealing with these connections. Very hard to put down once started.
by-Linda 2017/01/06, 08:42 PM

The Sisters Brothers
by Patrick deWitt
From The Jacket: Patrick deWitt, a young writer whose “stop-you-in-your-tracks writing has snuck up on the world” (Los Angeles Times), brings us The Sisters Brothers, a darkly comic, outrageously inventive novel that offers readers a decidedly of More

Buy From Amazon.com

I listened to this on audio, and it was just fantastic! The voices pulled you into the story and added such an interesting dimension to the characters.
by-Andrea 2016/07/22, 05:50 AM

Small Great Things
by Jodi Picoult
From The Jacket: Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than twenty years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been rea More

Buy From Amazon.com

This is a very insightful read! It opens up the conversation of racism and brings a different perspective to the table. It would make an awesome Book Club pick.
by-Andrea 2016/12/13, 08:54 AM

Orphan Train
by Christina Baker Kline
From The Jacket: Between 1854 and 1929, so called orphan trains ran regularly from the cities of the East Coast to the farmlands of the Midwest, carrying thousands of abandoned children whose fates would be determined by luck or chance. Would the More

Buy From Amazon.com

The story and characters are fictional, but the author based it on a an actual piece of our History that is not widely know, perhaps because it is a bit shameful. Thousands of orphaned children were transported across the country, purportedly to be placed in loving families. In reality, they were a source of cheap labor for farms.
by-linda 2017/01/06, 08:36 PM

The Goldfinch
by Donna Tartt
From The Jacket: Theo Decker, a 13-year-old New Yorker, miraculously survives an accident that kills his mother. Abandoned by his father, Theo is taken in by the family of a wealthy friend. Bewildered by his strange new home on Park Avenue, distu More

Buy From Amazon.com
I enjoyed taking my time with this book. It's beautifully descriptive, and I became completely immersed. What resonates with me most about this book is the characters. I loved them!
by-Andrea 2016/11/15, 02:11 PM

Leaving Time
by Jodi Picoult
From The Jacket: For more than a decade, Jenna Metcalf has never stopped thinking about her mother, Alice, who mysteriously disappeared in the wake of a tragic accident. Refusing to believe she was abandoned, Jenna searches for her mother regular More

Buy From Amazon.com

This book is one of my favorites by Jodi Picoult. It's a quick read, but what drew me in was the storyline about the elephants and their behavior. I found it fascinating and learned something too!
by-Andrea 2016/11/15, 02:06 PM

The Boston Girl
by Anita Diamant
From The Jacket: Anita Diamant’s “vivid, affectionate portrait of American womanhood” (Los Angeles Times), follows the life of one woman, Addie Baum, through a period of dramatic change. Addie is The Boston Girl, the spirited daughter of an immig More

Buy From Amazon.com
The Red Tent by Diamant is one of my favorite books, so I was excited to read Boston Girl. Although it was an excellent read, I didn't like it as much. I did love the voice of the protagonist Addie, as she talks about her young life. I enjoyed this book from start to finish.
by-Andrea 2016/11/15, 01:48 PM

Modern Lovers
by Emma Straub
From The Jacket: Friends and former college bandmates Elizabeth and Andrew and Zoe have watched one another marry, buy real estate, and start businesses and families, all while trying to hold on to the identities of their youth. But nothing ages More

Buy From Amazon.com
This book was the perfect mix of entertainment and substance. It's light enough where it's a quick read, yet has enough going on to keep you interested. I listened to it on audio and loved it.
by-Andrea 2016/11/15, 01:41 PM

The Girl You Left Behind
by Jojo Moyes
From The Jacket: Jojo Moyes’s word-of-mouth bestseller, Me Before You, catapulted her to wide critical acclaim and struck a chord with a wide range of readers everywhere. Now, with The Girl You Left Behind, Moyes returns with another irresistible More

Buy From Amazon.com

I truly became invested in the characters in this book. Some of the scenes were heart wrenching, especially the ones involving the Germans. It's an incredible story.
by-Andrea 2016/11/15, 01:38 PM

A Fall Of Marigolds
by Susan Meissner
From The Jacket: A beautiful scarf, passed down through the generations, connects two women who learn that the weight of the world is made bearable by the love we give away…. September 1911. On Ellis Island in New York Harbor, nurse Clara Wood More

Buy From Amazon.com

Very Compelling read which struck some strong emotional cords. Very hard to put down at times. It’s two stories running parallel and both are good. Highly recommend.
by-linda 2016/10/17, 08:05 PM

A Man Called Ove
by Fredrik Backman
From The Jacket: Read the New York Times bestseller that has taken the world by storm! In this “charming debut” (People) from one of Sweden’s most successful authors, a grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when a More

Buy From Amazon.com

A delight to read,fresh and original. Ove was such a believable but quirky character. Highly recommend and a must read for anyone who enjoyed The Rosie Project
by-linda 2016/09/14, 07:51 AM

It's been years since I've enjoyed a book so much. A Man Called Ove is a treasure! I'm going to find Fredrik Backman's book, My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry, to read next.
by-Din 2016/06/09, 06:25 PM

The Nest
by cynthia DAprix Sweeney
From The Jacket: A warm, funny and acutely perceptive debut novel about four adult siblings and the fate of the shared inheritance that has shaped their choices and their lives. Every family has its problems. But even among the most troubled, th More

Buy From Amazon.com

A light read perfect for travel or the beach. There is lots of family drama-and the plot touches on some very universal traits.
by-Linda 2016/08/16, 03:53 PM

Ordinary Grace
by William Kent Krueger
From The Jacket: In 1961 New Bremen, Minnesota, all is quiet and serene. The Minnesota River flows through the countryside, the town barber knows everyone’s name, and folks dutifully attend church every Sunday. But that serenity is thrown into tu More

Buy From Amazon.com

The complexity of this book keeps you turning the pages. Wonderfully written-not to be missed.
by-Linda 2016/08/16, 03:37 PM

The Summer Before the War
by Helen Simonson
From The Jacket: East Sussex, 1914. It is the end of England’s brief Edwardian summer, and everyone agrees that the weather has never been so beautiful. Hugh Grange, down from his medical studies, is visiting his Aunt Agatha, who lives with her h More

Buy From Amazon.com

Fantastic book! I listened to this on audio, and the narration was excellent. It transported me to the charming town of Rye in East Sussex, England. This is definitely one of my favorite summer reads.
by-Andrea 2016/08/06, 07:38 AM

Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
FIRST PREV (1 of 6) NEXT LAST
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending