The Betrayal
by Beverly Lewis
From The Jacket:Book 2 of Abrams Daughters. Spanning three generations, the Abrams Daughters series paints a powerful family portrait of four Amish sisters growing up in Gobblers Knob, Lancaster County. In Book One, The Covenant, when oldest sister Sadie is beguiled by a handsome, dark haired Englischer, it is younger sister Leah who suffers from her sisters shameful behavior. In Book Two, The Betrayal, Leah and her beloved Jonas are separated for half the year when he accepts a long desired carpenters apprenticeship in Ohio. They are confident that by letter and heartfelt promises, their love is strong enough to survive the temporary separation. But never could they have foreseen the bitter test facing them and their families.
This was a nice easy read and I enjoyed reading about the Amish Culture. I think this would be a great teen read, as it is categorized as Religious Fiction. It handles some coming of age topics very delicately while learning about the Amish faith. It was very interesting .
by-PBR 2009/03/19, 07:37 AM
| More Buy From

PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Free bookmarks
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending